How To Make Mondays Totally Awesome

Monday loveHappy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

And I really mean that.  There’s no reason that Monday has to be this dreadful day that’s loathed by humans and cats (poor Garfield!) alike.

Recent studies show that one-seventh of your life is made up of Mondays.  Would you have guessed that?  Bottom line, Monday simply cannot be avoided.

So rather than moping around like a sad sack with a full on case of the Mondays, why not bend the day to your will and actually look forward to it?

Here are some helpful hints for making Mondays totally awesome…

Monday flowersThink of it by another name.  At this point in your life, your mind has been conditioned to cringe upon hearing the word “Monday”.  Since you can’t prevent the day from returning every week, why not just wipe the word from your vocabulary?

Think of it as Sunday’s Sequel, Sunday: The Extended Cut, or Tuesday Eve.

Whatever it takes to ditch the word and stop your Pavlovian reaction to it.  Be creative.

Use your vacation days for Mondays.  I once worked with someone who took off Mondays for an entire Summer.  She said she loved having three days weekends, shorter work weeks, and not having to deal with Monday’s power over her.

Some workplaces allow flex schedules, especially during the Summer.  Why not look into working four ten hours days, and use Monday as your day of rest?

Monday writingStart out by playing to your strength.  I like to get up early on Mondays to write my Monday Morning Coffee Club Post.

The rest of the work week, I compose my blog posts when I get home from work.

I purposely get up early on Mondays, however, to remind myself that I am a writer first and writing will always take precedence over anything else.

This morning, I was out here on the porch in my pajamas, enjoying the cool breeze and the quiet.  I took control of the day by kicking it off with something that makes me feel confident and in control.

Try starting next Monday by playing to your strength and then see how the day unfolds.

Pump up the jams.  Whenever a Monday gets too Mondayish for my liking, I put in my earbuds and crank up the tunes.  When I am blasting Foo Fighters, I am too focused on the music to allow bad thoughts to form in my mind.

Everyone has music that settles the brain.  Use it as a weapon of mass distraction.

Monday scrubsFind an attractive lunch date.  My Monday got exponentially better when my favorite skydiving daredevil told me she was going to meet me for lunch.

Once I had that wonderful bit of news, it was all the motivation I needed to chug along until noon.

There’s something about sitting across from a beautiful woman, watching her face light up as she tells you how amazing it was to jump out of an airplane, to make you forgot about your worries.

Plus, an attractive gal in scrubs just does it for me.

Get lost in a book.  Nothing will make you forget it’s Monday quicker than getting lost in a good book.  I always read during my breaks, and those fifteen minute bursts of adventure can wipe away hours of maudlin Monday memories.

A book will leave its mark in your mind, and reading just a few pages will push out some of the bad thoughts, to make room for Deep Thoughts on the story.

Monday bugRemember that Mondays always end.  Even if these amazing tips somehow fail to make Mondays totally awesome for you, there’s always your Ace in the hole:

Mondays end.

Once the sun sets on a Monday, wave goodbye to it, and set your sights on the six days ahead.  Don’t allow one day to have so much power over you.

Happy Monday, Modern Philosophers!  Make it a great one!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How To Make Mondays Totally Awesome

  1. My way of avoiding Monday blahs is to work every day of the week. That way every day is Monday. (And also Friday.) TGIF.

  2. markbialczak says:

    Happy Monday, Austin. Good ideas. It’s all mind over matter, you’re right.

  3. List of X says:

    Sunday Sequel? Like we need another reminder that sequels are usually much worse than the original. 🙂

  4. Austin,
    I absolutely loved this! What a perfect and positive way to approach Monday.
    In fact, the only reason I didn’t read this yesterday (Monday!) was because I took the day off!
    I will totally adopt your attitude the next time Tuesday’s Eve comes around.
    Michelle
    Ps: it only takes a pair of a scrubs to get your blood pressure up? I have a whole closet full 😉

  5. The Cutter says:

    I’ve long preferred Monday to Tuesday. Tuesday’s are just as bad without the built in “it’s Monday” excuse

  6. Joy says:

    I like to think it’s just 24 hours…anyone can get through 24 hours, right? Loved the bit you said about writing as well..doing that first to remind yourself it will always take precedence over everything else. I’m not there yet, but it’s a goal.

Leave a Reply

