Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/3/15

Giant mugIt’s the first Monday of August, Modern Philosophers, and this Coffee Club post is coming to you live from the front porch of The House on the Hill.

If Summer is, in fact, slowly slipping from our grasp, then I want to be outside enjoying as much of it as possible.  It’s a cool morning, a gentle breeze is blowing the American flag at the end of the porch, and the birds are singing.

Pretty perfect for a Monday, right?

I’ve tried to take the evil edge off of Mondays by making it one of the two days of the week that I don’t run.  I’m hoping that by associating Monday with relaxing and sleeping later, I’ll come to hate it a little less.

After all, I am supposed to be maintaining my Positivity Plus Attitude!

Speaking of running, I posted my best 4 mile time by far yesterday.  I shaved 1:20 off my time and was pretty thrilled.  When I did my weekly weigh in, I discovered that I’ve lost 7 lbs since I started running again 4 weeks ago.

Woo hoo!

Work has the potential to be stressful this week.  We work in teams, and my partner is on vacation.  So, things could get busy and out of hand, or I could find my peaceful place and have a very relaxing, quiet week.

Let’s hope for the latter.

MondayHad another of my weird nightmares last night.  Again, it was about my ex-wife, she was driving me to a final exam in New York City, and I broke down during the car ride and begged her not to divorce me.

I’m always befuddled when I dream about J.  We have been divorced for 11 years now, and I never think about her, see her, or wish we were back together.

So why in the world is she haunting my nightmares?  I could see if these dreams were about The Girl Who Moved Away, as she is still in my heart and mind, and I wish we were still together.

It’s unacceptable, Modern Philosophers!  I want to file an official complaint, but I do not know to whom to send it.  Any suggestions?

To get back to a positive place…who else is delighted that Bloom County has made its triumphant return?  I am thrilled that my favorite strip of all time is back.  I have missed Opus and the gang tremendously.

It is so peaceful out here.  I wouldn’t mind spending my Monday on the porch, still in my pjs, just writing whatever crazy stories tumble out of my head.

Alas, that is not possible, so I must wrap up this post and head back inside to where reality awaits.  I might sit out here a little bit longer, though, and enjoy the breeze.

Help yourself to the coffee.  Enjoy your Monday.  Only seventeen hours to go!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/3/15

  1. caslee2000 says:

    The nightmares…while you suffer nightmares about your ex, I find myself having strange, random moments in the middle of dreams where I suddenly smoke a cigarette. I don’t smoke. I’m a cancer survivor. In the dreams, I’m saying I don’t WANT to smoke, yet smoking happens anyway. So bizarre.
    Here’s hoping you find your peaceful place throughout the week. My early morning run is the only thing that prevents me from being a grizzly every Monday – Wednesday is the sleep-in day! 😉

  2. markbialczak says:

    Call up Cheap Trick and complain to the Dream Police, Austin! Hello, Robin Zander …

Leave a Reply

