Friday Night Think Tank: Fiesta Friday!

Doc BrownThat loud sound you just heard, Modern Philosophers, was my exhaling in relief that this work week is done.

Happy Friday!  I am out on the porch of The House on the Hill, it’s a beautiful Summer night, and I’m writing.  Does it get much better than this?

The dog days of Summer have definitely arrived, and the week dragged a little more than usual.  Thankfully, Friday kept its word and returned to make it all better.

Who’s ready to head out to the Think Tank to just unwind, relax, and work up a few Deep Thoughts?  It’s the perfect night for it…

This week’s topic: As the Summer drags on, and the workdays seem to get excruciatingly longer, what do you do to raise morale around the office and propel yourself into the weekend?

It’s such a wild coincidence that this week’s topic coincides with my planning a little shindig at work today to raise moral and propel my coworkers into the weekend.  Isn’t it crazy how things work?

Today was the triumphant return of Fiesta Friday!

fiesta 1What is Fiesta Friday?  It is an exciting workday holiday I came up with last Summer to make Fridays a little more exciting around the ole workplace.

As you can tell by the name, this special day always falls on a Friday, which is perfect not only because it hastens the weekend’s arrival, but also because alliteration is fun!

Essentially, Fiesta Friday is an all day eating binge.  Everyone brings in a snack, the food is piled on the table by the copier, and we just get up from our desks whenever the mood hits to grab something for noshing.

Some weeks, Fiesta Friday has a theme (we did it much more regularly last Summer), and some weeks, it’s just a free for all.

I prefer the latter because we could end up with anything from entrees to desserts to chips and dip to crock pot surprises.  There’s always something for everyone on Fiesta Friday.

Of course, there is one special touch essential to make the holiday perfect…

fiesta 2Ya gotta go Full Pinata!

It’s not festive until you bust out the pinatas.  We’ve had these two for so long that they’ve become the unofficial office mascots.  If they hang around much longer, they will become eligible for medical benefits (which could be VERY handy for a pinata!) and a 401K.

I called for a return to Fiesta Fridays this week because I could feel the week dragging me down its level, and I didn’t want that to happen.

Fiesta Friday buoyed my spirits and made the day pass much more quickly.

I’m proud to say I didn’t go overboard like I usually do, Modern Philosophers.  I have been working too hard at losing weight to blow it on chips and dip, which has difficult because those pinatas can be damn persuasive!

So what about you, Modern Philosophers?  Do you think you might give Fiesta Friday a try at your workplace?  Is there something else you do to raise morale in the office?  Do you promise to go Full Pinata the next time the opportunity presents itself?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Fiesta Friday!

  1. floridaborne says:

    The people at the office where I do contract work are the best! They’re more like family than co-workers. People are always bringing things into the office. Today, I brought in pears from the tree in my back yard. People took home a few, some had pears with lunch. It feels great to be able to contribute.

  2. grannyK says:

    Well, it’s a little different since I watch 8 boys for work, but we are going to have an ice cream party next week! That counts, right?

  3. I’m constantly bringing food into work, mostly because I always make more than I can eat myself, especially if it’s lasagna, which I brought in last Wednesday for a good friend’s birthday. (It’s an annual tradition.) I’m also constantly trying to organize theme dress up days for work. They’re hit or miss. Disco Dance Monday went over pretty well, but my idea for a recent Friday the 13th (Come As Your Favorite Axe Murderer) not so much. (sigh)

  4. donedreaming says:

    We had Bacon Sandwich Friday. Each week me and a colleague use to go and pick up the order for the office from a van outside. One Friday (unbeknownest to us) there was a local TV station reporting in the area and that night we appeared on the 6pm news seen scurrying back to the office laden down with white paper bags. Took a while to live that one down. We then introduced Cake Friday which was very popular until Spring then everyone went on a diet so they could squeeze in to their bikinis come Summer holidays.

  5. donedreaming says:

    Ha, ha … my little face is glowing! It could of course be from the wine which is now opened and making this Saturday evening a mellow one. Enjoy your Saturday Austin 😀

  6. markbialczak says:

    I say to Ellie B aka Dogamous Pyle, Hey, it’s Friday! She wags her tail and stands by the back door to be let out on the porch. I go back to my work chair/recliner and write some more. It’s a lot like working at home on Monday through Thursday, Austin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

