Time To Take A Much Needed Dump Run

House on the Hill SummerSummer in Maine means yard work, Modern Philosophers.

If I want to keep The House on the Hill looking top notch, I have to get my hands dirty working on the Great Lawn and the Side Gardens.

You all know how difficult it is to mow the grounds, and this Summer, I’ve had the additional issue of the Bamboo Jungle.

On the side of the house not visible in the above photo, a might jungle of bamboo has sprung to life.  I ripped it all up last month, but much of it was back last week, so I yanked it all up again.  Grueling work that left me dripping with sweat, and saying things about bamboo that I simply cannot repeat on a family friendly blog.

Guess what I did this morning after running 4.25 miles and mowing the lawn?  That’s right, Modern Philosophers, I was destroying more bamboo invaders.  Luckily, though, there wasn’t much new stuff, but it was enough to work up a sweat.

As a result of all this yard work, I had quite the pile of bamboo stacked in front of the wishing well.  It was blocked from view by a large bush and a tree, but I knew it was there and it was bothering me.

Today, it was finally time to put me out of my misery…

Dump 3My neighbor Mark was kind enough to help me load the mess into the back of his truck, and we took at trip to the dump.

I’ve lived in Maine eleven years now, and had only been to the dump once.  No, Modern Philosophers, it was not to dispose of a body.  There are swamps for that…

To be honest, I didn’t even know how to get there.

Dump 2There was definitely enough rubbish to fill the bed of the truck.  I was smart about it, too, and trimmed a few branches off the bush in front of the house before we left.

As long as we were going on a dump run, I might as well take advantage of the opportunity to get rid of some other stuff.

Dump 1That’s Mark, my wonderful neighbor.  He helps clears my driveway of snow in the Winter with his snowblower.  In the Summer, he helps me clear my garden of bamboo.

He was well rewarded for his kind gesture.  Let’s just say there are some Bud Lights chilling out in his fridge on this hot Summer afternoon.

Dump 4It didn’t look like much once we had unloaded the truck, but believe me, that is a lot of future compost there.

I had worked up such a sweat loading and unloading the truck that I had to take another shower when I returned to The House on the Hill.

Dump 5Just for fun, here is a shot of the enormous pile of brush we found when we arrived at the dump.  I wonder how much of that is bamboo!

Dump 6Okay, fine.  Here’s one last photo from the dump.  Satisfied?

I know I am.  It was a load off my shoulders (and my property) to get rid of that bamboo.

Hopefully, it’s at least another eleven years before I head to the dump again.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Time To Take A Much Needed Dump Run

  1. SD Gates says:

    Ooo – I do not envy you and your monstrous task of ridding the estate of invasive bamboo. What a nightmarish job!!!!

  2. Glenda says:

    I don’t know about Maine, but here in California, if you’ve got a grove of bamboo, you might as well get used to it. You’ll be seeing the dump a lot more than every 11 years. Sorry about that.

  3. markbialczak says:

    I saw the headline dump run, and my mind just went elsewhere, Austin, and I imagined you having to finish the home-half of your Saturday run in a mad dash. What’s wrong with me?!

  4. howardat58 says:

    You had better dig up the roots!

  5. Ali Isaac says:

    What a beautiful house you have!

  6. In the civilized Mohawk Valley, the village picks up our yard waste. I wholeheartedly admire your effort and sweat. I sweat today merely because I worked overtime and my place of employment is not air conditioned. I may run tomorrow, being inspired, among other reasons, by your recent prowess. My yard, however, will probably remain in its disgraceful state. Rock on.

  7. grannyK says:

    You had a productive day! Yard work can be so time consuming. I enjoy it, but it does take a chunk out of my down time.

Leave a Reply

