Monday Morning (Iced) Coffee Club: 8/17/15

Giant mugIt’s Monday, Modern Philosophers.

This week’s Coffee Club post is brought to you by the letters H, O, and T.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, it is hot.  So whatever else I had planned for this morning’s post has been scrapped to talk about the heat.

It’s not so much a heatwave, as it is a heat tsunami.  It came crashing over Maine yesterday morning, and looks like it is going to be with us until Thursday.

We have been lucky this Summer.  There have been one or two sweltering days, but it has been much more comfortable than usual.

What you need to understand is that The House on the Hill is not equipped with air conditioning.  I find it ridiculous to pay to chill the house for a week or two every Summer when it costs so much to keep it warm during the Winter.

Perhaps that doesn’t make sense to the rest of you, but I’ve given it much Deep Thought over the years, and my Philosophy remains that there shall be no AC here.

The heatwave hit yesterday.  I felt it on my morning run, and it honestly had a major effect on me.  It took everything I had to get through the 4.25 miles, and if I hadn’t been so dedicated to my new workout program, I definitely would have quit early on and just wandered home.

As you can tell by the subsequent blog post I wrote yesterday afternoon (The Dark Side post), the temperatures really got to me and I was pretty much out of it the rest of the day.  I drank a lot of water, didn’t do much, and just let my body try to recover.

heat waveIt ended up getting worse overnight.  As you know, heat rises, so my bedroom was hot and uncomfortable.

I blasted the fan and managed to fall asleep, but I woke up a little after midnight and had the worst time falling back to sleep.

My plan in such situations is to sleep in the living room with all the windows open.  The couch is fairly comfortable, or I drag the mattress from the guest bedroom down the stairs and sleep on that in the middle of the living room floor.

I was very close to moving to the living room when sleep finally grabbed hold of me.  There is a good chance I will be sleeping in the living room the rest of the week, though.

Of course, when I finally did fall back asleep, I had another one of my very detailed Sunday night dreams about my ex-wife.  In my latest nightmare, we went on an amazing date back in New York, and I was able to convince her to call off the divorce.

Why is this happening every Sunday?  I might have to take drastic measures, and hang a dream catcher over the bed.  However, I read that Stephen King novel and I know that such a move is probably not a good idea.

SONY DSCThere’s plenty of coffee, so help yourself.  Since it’s so hot, I have given the interns permission to dip into my personal Snapple stash for you this morning.  Don’t get used to it, but please enjoy it.

Time to get ready for work.  The air conditioning has been very spotty there all Summer, so I hope it is working properly today.  I need a break from the heat!

Stay cool, Modern Philosophers!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Monday Morning (Iced) Coffee Club: 8/17/15

  1. It was a hot one in Syracuse yesterday too… and so muggy! I never thought I needed A/C either, but now that I have it, I wouldn’t give it up for anything.

  2. Hang in there! Fall is just around the corner. 🙂

  3. It is brutally hot here in Michigan too right now. The AC in my apartment actually never works very well, so I am sitting here completely encircled in a ring of fans. (I call it “Fanhenge.”) I’m also sipping a can of Pabst Blue Ribbon, and yeah it’s early morning, but I’m on vacation this week, and I’ve decided that’s how I want to spend it. Writing blogs, reading blogs, commenting on blogs, and seeing just how many cans of cheap (yet not really all that disgusting) cans of beer I can consume in one week. (Winning!)

  4. nolanwrites says:

    I couldn’t live without aircon. It’s pretty much 38 degrees here in Singapore everyday!

  5. All I can add is that I have a lot of bizarre dreams too, especially in the twilight of morning (after I get up and take care of the cats and dogs). If I REALLY remembered them the way I dreamed them, I’d be going to a psycho ward sooner than later..

  6. I feel your discomfort. Stick to your guns on the A/C. When our furnace perished in the flood of 2013, we asked the guy selling us our new furnace about central air. He said it doesn’t help above the first floor, which my parents confirmed (they got central air AFTER all their kids moved out). Fist in the air for fan in the window! Let’s start a club!

  7. OOOF Its so hot!! I’m dying here in NYC, but its worse in Cali where LL lives. If you need a distraction we’re having a blog party this weekend and would LOVE for you to stop by and share your witty blog with our readers! (And if you want to “bring” any of your friends or readers, we’d LOVE to see them, too! The more the merrier!) The link won’t be live until Friday–but here’s your “invite” to the party:
    http://liveclarelesleyblog.com/2015/08/21/blog-party-aug-21-23/
    BIG HUGS,
    LCL

Leave a Reply

