The Watermelon Date

watermelonI had lunch

With a

Beautiful

Watermelon

Today.

Not an actual melon

(Let’s not be ridiculous!),

But rather,

An attractive

Young lady,

My favorite

Daredevil,

Who just

So happened

To remind me

Of the fruit.

She was

Hot

Under

The

Collar

When we met,

But all

I could

Think of

Was

How

Pretty

She looked.

While she vented,

I listened

Attentively

And

Admired.

Resisting

The overwhelming urge

To count

Her

Adorable

Freckles.

She was wearing

Her scrubs.

Pink and green.

I smiled

And told her

She looked like

A watermelon.

Then I added

That

Her

Freckles

Were

The

Seeds.

I hope

She realizes

I meant it

As a

Compliment.

I was having

A rough day,

And my

Watermelon date

Made me smile.

Just what

The doctor ordered

On a stifling

Summer day.

I’ve never been

A huge fan

Of the watermelon,

But today,

It raised

Its standing

In my book.

Now,

Whenever

I see one,

I’ll think of

My lunch date

And smile!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Watermelon Date

  1. Pamela Edwards says:

    That’s sweet Austin !

  2. D. Parker says:

    How juicy… 😉

  3. I’m still laughing that you said “You look like a watermelon.” But, very sweet story. 🙂

  4. Aw, this made me smile 🙂 You cutie, you! I’d take being called a watermelon as a compliment… I think? 😏

  5. That’s the sweetest compliment a girl can get. Adorable.

  6. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SURE HOPE YOUR DATE BEARS FRUIT…AT LEAST ANOTHER DATE???? 🙂

  7. EXCELLENT,EXCELLENT.EXCELLENT….SO GLAD YOU CAME UP IN MY READER. SO…are they melons, or peaches,,,or grapes???? (just a man’s way of prying…!) You were the BEST PART of her day, I’m sure!!!!

Leave a Reply

