Friday Night Think Tank: The Time Traveler’s Vacation

Doc BrownHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers!  As of 5:00, I am officially on vacation until September 1.  Let the good times roll!

Of course, before I head off on my Summer Vacation, I will spend some time with you in the Think Tank.  It is our Friday night tradition after all…

It has been an incredibly draining week between work and this horrible heat wave, so vacation could not have come at a more perfect time.

It’s almost as if I time traveled into the future to help me figure out the best time to to take off from work…

I picked up some salt and vinegar wings on the way home, so I’m itching to have my dinner.  Let’s get things rolling here first, though!

This week’s topic: If you could time travel back to any Summer in your life for a vacation, which year would you revisit?

I am limiting the time travel to a span during your life, Modern Philosophers, because I basically want to know what Summer past had the deepest effect on you.

Yes, I’m just being incredibly nosy!

I’m going to choose the Summer I was 16.  Evil Step Mother packed me off to a sleep away camp upstate to work as a counselor.  She said I needed to learn responsibility, and shouldn’t waste away my Summer goofing off (you know, like a typical 16 year old!).

MeatballsMeatballs was one of my all-time favorite movies at the time (it still is!), so a Summer away from home as a CIT sounded like it could be a blast….even if Bill Murray wasn’t around to mentor me or serenade me in a canoe.

That Summer, I fell in love for the first time.  I had an incredible amount of fun, realized how invigorating it could be to be independent, and planted the seed for a future away from my family (don’t worry…that’s a good thing!).

I’d love to go back to that Summer just to see Maureen again, hold her hand one more time, and try to convince her it would be worth her while to wait around for me to turn 18.

I’d also just like to see me at a time when I was coming into my own, learning to stand on my own two feet, and enjoying freedom far from my Evil Step Mother’s iron fist.

OpusI’d probably take 16 year old Austin aside and give him a pep talk.  If I had the confidence then that I developed much later in life, I think things would have turned out much different and for the better.

I’d also tell him to write down everything that happened over the course of the Summer because it would make for an excellent movie someday!

That was a great Summer, and I’d fire up my time machine to visit it again anytime.

How about you, Modern Philosophers?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: The Time Traveler’s Vacation

  1. HA! This is such an easy question for me to answer, and coincidentally I just wrote a blog about this last night, having NO idea this was going to be the subject of your Friday Night Think Tank! (I kid you not.) The summer of 1999. A good friend of mine and I bought season passes to a place called Cedar Point. (It’s a little amusement park only a couple hours drive from where I live in Michigan.) I frequently refer to it as the “Summer of the Season Passes.” We went to the park every Wednesday for the duration of the summer, and it was…awesome. By the way I hope it’s cooling off for you. It finally did here in Michigan and today was absolutely wonderful!

    • Austin says:

      That sounds like a blast! Have you ever seen the flick Adventureland? That’s the first thing that came to mind when I read your reply. I’m out on the porch now, nice cool breeze, it’s finally cooling off!

  2. floridaborne says:

    The summer that we had a season pass to Astroworld (which is now closed). I believe it was 1992. My kids, hubby #4 and I would go about an hour before closing. There weren’t many cars and the people who were left were at the Batman stunt show. We were able to watch the fireworks while on the Texas Twister or one of the other roller coasters. It was only a few miles away from where we lived, but there was nothing more exhilarating than riding the same coaster 4 times and going to the next to do the same. We could ride the rides more times than the people who were there all day!

  3. The summer of 1989. I was 20 living in Germany finishing up 3 years in the Army. I was about to make some huge decisions in my life, and I need some good advice from someone who I can trust.

    I needed to have a little less arrogance and a little more Jesus I think.

  4. nolanwrites says:

    I spent 6 weeks in California a few years ago, mainly in San Francisco. I’ve been back a few times and it’s my absolute favourite place to visit in the States!

  5. markbialczak says:

    I’ll pick the summer between my junior and senior years at the U of Maryland, Austin. My friends Greg and Mike and I were renting an off-campus apartment, and we stayed to take summer classes and work on the campus newspaper and work part-time jobs as well. The apartment complex had a pool, lots of fellow college students living there … It signaled my complete break from my parents, and I cherished my independence and never looked back.

  6. LucyJartz says:

    My best summer was 3 weeks unplugged at a campsite with minimal facilities in Maine. We worked to get there, worked to eat, worked to entertain ourselves— until the magical moment when the work became meaningful and turned into play. My dad mentored me and our kids into time travel to a less hectic past when he was a kid. It was great! I still go there on imaginary vacations.

Leave a Reply

