One Happy Year At The Cat House On The Hill

cats 1This is the view I woke up to this morning, Modern Philosophers.

Cali and Luna curled up on the bed with me, anxiously waiting for me to open my eyes.  I like to think it’s because they love me, but I’m pretty sure it’s because they were hungry and wanted to be fed.

Either way, it’s a nice way to wake up on the first day of my vacation.

Today is also a very special day at The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers…

It was one year ago that Cali and Luna decided to come live with me!  I still remember going to the Bangor Humane Society like it was only yesterday.

Here are some photos taken of the adorable little monsters over the past year…

cats 2Cali looks like an Angel with her halo glowing behind her.  She is definitely a Daddy’s girl, and will try to sit in my lap no matter where I am or what I’m doing!

cats 3It took a long time to get Luna to warm up to me.  She still won’t sit in my lap, but she loves to be next to me on the couch.  She’ll come over, put her paws up on my leg like she wants to jump into my lap, but then she just curls up next to me.

cats 4Luna sometimes likes to pretend she’s a statue.  Actually, she’s just in guard kitty mode, waiting to pounce if a stranger comes through the front door!

cats 5I knew the moment I saw Cali and Luna at the Bangor Humane Society that I was going to adopt them.  While all the other kitties scampered to the front of their cages to say hi, these two stayed shyly in the back and just stared at me.

cats 6When I told the staff I intended to adopt these two purr balls, they were delighted. Apparently, Cali and Luna had been there the longest.  They had come from the same home, and the staff only wanted to send them to a forever home together.

Luna had needed a minor operation while she was in the shelter, and I was told that Cali was a very nervous girl without her big sister around.  There was no way they would ever try to break up the pair.

cats 7They are pretty much inseparable here as well.  Every once in a while, Luna tries to take a break from her little sister, but Cali always finds her before too long.

cats 8I’m sure Cali was up on this chair with Luna in a matter of minutes.  Hopefully, she enjoyed her quiet time while it lasted!

cats 9At least Cali takes care of her big sister, and isn’t always just chasing her or insisting that she play games with her.

cats 10After losing my beloved little black cat Banky last July, I never thought I’d be able to open up my heart to another kitty again.

The fact that Cali is also a little black cat has been a delightful bonus.  I’ll never forget Banky, but Cali certainly makes me smile and realize that I’m always happiest when I hear the pitter patter of tiny paws on the hardwood floors.

cats 13How could I not love Luna, a kitty who tucks herself into bed like a child?  I am so thankful that these two decided to come home with me a year ago today.

They have made The (Cat) House on the Hill feel like a home again!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to One Happy Year At The Cat House On The Hill

  1. Awww, happy anniversary to the three of you 🙂

  2. Happy Anniversary! Animals are so precious.

  3. D. Parker says:

    I can’t believe it’s been a year, I remember when you brought the tiny lovelies into your home, heart, and life. While they will never replace Banky, I’m glad you have brought each other comfort and joy. 🙂
    Wishing you a purr-fectly wonderful anniversary!!! 🙂

  4. donedreaming says:

    Gotta love kitties. I’m being ‘interviewed’ on Monday to become a foster parent for kittens for the RSPCA (our Humane Society). Hoping I pass. My siamese Lily passed away in January after 16 years and I’m not over that yet but I thought I could look after kittens for a few weeks before they go off to their forever home 😀

  5. grannyK says:

    Wow it’s been a year! Lovely post!

  6. Cute adorable monsters. The only kind you need to blend with the furniture and make your home all cosy. ☺

  7. Patti says:

    Happy “gotcha day” Cali and Luna! Happy Anniversary Austin! What a great story and so happy you have 2 little buddies and they have a great pet-dad! I work for a rescue in Michigan and we LOVE when an adopter recognizes older kitties – those who have been in the shelter the longest and most importantly, those that are bonded together and will give them a loving and forever home! Lucky kitties and lucky “dad”! BTW – they are adorable!

  8. claidig says:

    Very sweet! This Christmas will mark our third anniversary with a stray that wandered into our garden (fourth, if you count the year he spent in our garage first). I’m still not sure he understands how it all happened, but he seems to be taking it well – or as well as can be when the resident white and grey-eared furball wants to play 24/7.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Happy Two-Cat-iversary, Austin. Cali and Luna are great roommates in the House on the Hill. I can see it. 🙂

  10. I’m not sure who’s luckier – those two adorable kitty’s for having you or you for having them. Sounds like a mutual admiration society from the human society! Happy Kitaversary!

Leave a Reply

