Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/24/15

Giant mugGood morning, Modern Philosophers!

I apologize for the tardy nature of this post, but I have an excellent excuse…

I’m on vacation!!!!

That’s right, Modern Philosophers, I am a free man for the next week, and I am really looking forward to some time away from being chained to my desk.

I’m in such a good mood that I don’t even care that it’s Monday.

I slept in this morning, which was wonderful.  Then I got up and went for a run.  I never run on Mondays, but I figured what better way to kick off a relaxing week, you know?

Then I came home, still dripping in sweat, and mowed the lawn.  After that, I got my work gloves out of the garage and yanked up bamboo until my shirt was so sweaty that it stuck to my body as if it were my skin.

Do I know how to take it easy or what???

All kidding aside, I actually wanted to go for a run this morning.  I’m entering week eight of my running program, and it just seems natural to put on the Running Toga and hit the road when I’ve got the time.

The reason I had to mow the lawn today was because I put it off on Saturday, as I was enjoying my time off and couldn’t be bothered with yard work.

vacationI’ve got some very good news to report.  I woke up yesterday with an idea for a new screenplay, and then I worked it out in my head on my run.

I wrote 15 pages of the new script yesterday.  In fact, I was about to go to bed last night, but decided to fire up the laptop and write more pages.

I mentally outlined the next couple of scenes during this morning’s run, and I’m looking forward to adding to my page count today.

It is an amazing feeling to be this locked in and have screenplay pages tumbling out of my head faster than I can type them.

This is how I like to spend my vacation.  I can just be a full time writer, relax, and not have to answer to anyone.

I hope you are all having a great Monday.  I know I am.  Stop in for some coffee, and I’ll sit down and chat with you.  As long as I’m not busy working on my screenplay, of course.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/24/15

  1. pamtanzey says:

    Hey Austin, Happy writing vacation!!!

  2. Tricia says:

    Sounds heavenly! *cheers*

  3. grannyK says:

    I love how happy you sound! Have a great vacation.

  4. markbialczak says:

    Happy Vacation Monday, Austin! May this new screenplay be a big winner for you!

    Now, how can you get that bamboo out of that patch once and for all? Burn it down? Poison the roots? Dig it out? There’s got to be some way to give you a break from that dang stuff.

  5. ksbeth says:

    enjoy every minute )

Leave a Reply

