Out In The Rain

Austin rainWhen I

Was but a wee

  Modern Philosopher,

My stepmother

Had a saying:

“Too dumb

To come in

Out of the rain!”

This morning,

I went

For a run

In the rain.

Guess what?

I didn’t

Feel stupid

At all.

In fact,

I felt free,

I felt silly,

I felt like a kid again.

Just without

The overly opinionated

Evil Stepmother.

What’s wrong

With staying out

In the rain?

Perhaps

Her reservations

Had something

To do

With water’s

Debilitating effect

On Wicked Witches???

I run

In sneakers,

Not ruby slippers,

So I know

The odds

Of my melting

Are slim

To none.

Nine out of ten

Flying Monkeys

Agree

With my

Risk assessment.

Austin rain 2And so,

I went

For a run

In the rain.

I passed

A woman

In a red jacket,

Who had

An umbrella,

But chose not

To use it.

She smiled

And said hi

Both times

I passed her.

Guess no one

Ever told her

Only stupid people

Go out

In the rain.

Or maybe

Someone did

Tell her that,

And she walks

In the rain

As an act

Of defiance!

To the rebels

Of the world,

I tip

My rain soaked hat.

The world needs

More people

Willing

To

Stay out

In

The

Rain!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Out In The Rain

  1. donedreaming says:

    Look at you, you rebel ! No such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothing 😀

  2. Twirling around with your mouth open to catch a few raindrops on your tongue is mandatory as well.

  3. Loved this. I’m the one in the crowd standing outside with those waiting with their full carts waiting for the downpour to stop….. And staring as I run out in it jumping in the puddles and twirling around with my head toward the sky. Those who let rain stop them are really missing out. “You don’t stop playing when you grow old…..you grow old when you stop playing” kudos to you my friend! Meet you in the rain!!

  4. Joseph Nebus says:

    It sounds like you knew full well about coming in out of the rain, you just chose not to. That’s a different matter entirely.

  5. markbialczak says:

    Warm rain, nice. Cold rain, not so much. Good run, Austin!

Leave a Reply

