Back In The Gas Guzzling Saddle Again

Austin driving 1I went grocery shopping this morning, Modern Philosophers, and on my way to the store, I realized that it was the first time I’d driven in a week.

That’s how relaxing this vacation has been.

Driving isn’t one of my favorite activities, and one could even say that it raises my stress levels, so it has been nice to not have to do it for seven days.

It’s not like I’ve been a prisoner at The House on the Hill all week.  I’ve done plenty of running, and anytime I went out, I simply walked to my destination.

Walking is just another way to burn calories and a relaxing way to work out screenplay ideas in my head.

I guess that makes it a double threat.

Austin driving 3So I drove to Hannaford and got my shopping done.  It was weird to be there at a time other than after work on Friday, but it was delightfully quiet and I got to avoid the usual long wait at the deli counter.

I’m really getting used to this not being at work thing, Modern Philosophers.  So much so that I might’ve sent a text before heading to the store, telling a friend that I was going to scope out the place to see if I could find any potential sugar mommas.

I’d love nothing more than to be able to write full time, so I just need to figure out a way to bankroll that dream until my writing income is enough to keep me in the life to which I’ve grown accustomed.

If there is some rich lady out there who’d like to take me under her wing and parade me around as her arm candy, then I’d be open to a conversation on the subject.

Might as well take advantage of my skinnier, healthier look, right?

Austin driving 2In the end, it’s just about living life to the fullest.  For me, that means being able to support myself as a writer and never having to go to a “regular job” again.

Every horse needs a carrot, and that is mine.  Sure, I’d love to win an Oscar, create an unforgettable movie franchise, and be remembered as one of the greatest writers of my generation, but I’d also be content with simply being able to write full time.

Right now, though, I’m out on the porch with my legs up on the railing, as I enjoy this beautiful Summer day.

Life is good.  The car is in the garage.  Screenplay ideas are forming in my head.  I’m still on vacation.

Happy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back In The Gas Guzzling Saddle Again

  1. Ali Isaac says:

    Nice view! And I’m not talking about the scenery lol! 😄

Leave a Reply

