Friday Night Think Tank: Interns’ Choice

Doc BrownHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

As I’ve mentioned many, many times over the course of the week, I am on vacation.  Because of this, I will probably not be able to appear in person at the Think Tank tonight.

However, I will be there in spirit and will participate via the power of the internet.

The blog interns are constantly pestering me to allow them to write posts, and they’ve finally broken me, Modern Philosophers.

As a result of their incessant harassing, I have relented and agreed to allow them to pick tonight’s Think Tank topic.

Please keep in mind that these are college kids, who have given up their Summer vacation to earn some extra credit.   They might also lack focus and have a severe addiction to social media and all things celebrity related.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that!

They mean well, though, want to grow up to be writers, and really do believe in the power of Deep Thoughts.  So I beg you to be patient with them and to respond to whatever topic they choose as if it were one of my own.

Thanking you in advance!

This week’s topic: If you could have any celebrity as a bestie, who would it be?

Okay.  That could be a very interesting topic for a relaxing Summer night in the Think Tank.  My mind is already racing with several ideas.

The whole point of this Philosophical Exercise is to make us think, right?

Then good job, Blog Interns!

As a screenwriter, movie nerd, and holder of a BFA in Film, I’m going to have to go with someone from the movie business on this one.  The only question is how do I narrow it down to one person?

After much Deep Thought, I’m choosing to be besties with…

Vince SwingersVince Vaughn!

Swingers is one of my all-time favorite movies, and the skinny, crazy Vince from that flick is someone I would’ve loved to have known when I lived out in California.

The scene where he gets up on the table in the diner and swings his jacket wildly over his head as he goes just a little bit crazy cracks me up every time I watch the flick.

Wedding Crashes is another of his films that really resonates with me.  Vince might’ve packed on the pounds by the time he made that one, but he’s still the same lovable teddy bear underneath it all.

He just seems like someone who is simply playing himself in his movies, and his characters are always nutty, fun, hilarious, and loyal to his friends.

I recently saw Vince on The Tonight Show, and the way he was with Jimmy Fallon is the way I see our friendship going.

Vince nowSo put me down for Vince Vaughn on this on, with John Cusack running a close second.

Interns, you are so money and you don’t even know it!

What about you, Modern Philosophers?  Who would be your celebrity BFF?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Interns’ Choice

  1. Pamela Edwards says:

    Robert Redford because of the movies he has made & what he has contributed to film . Morgan Freeman as a 2nd choice because I enjoy his movies & find him interesting.

  2. floridaborne says:

    At this particular moment, the only one I want to know is the Sandman so I can get some sleep.

    Enjoy your vacation. I hope you return to us virtually rested.

  3. Tim Gatewood says:

    Samuel L Jackson – loved everything he’s done, especially Pulp Fiction (his role in that still spins up quotes in my head after all these years. They’re NSFW quotes, but quotes, nonetheless. ). Morgan Freeman a close second. If we could include the dead, I’d love to meet John Denver or Woodie Guthrie or Hank Williams, Sr.

  4. drishism says:

    Probably Emma Stone. I generally enjoy her in movies, and she crushed Jimmy Fallon in a lip sync battle

Leave a Reply

