Fantabulous At 40!

Austin run 1Today was the 4oth run of my eight week running adventure, Modern Philosophers.  Tomorrow, I go for my annual physical, so I will know soon enough if all this exercise and healthy eating has done any good.

I haven’t lost as much weight as I thought I would (my scale lies!), but I certainly feel thinner.

Check out that photo on the left.  There is a noticeable difference in the way I look.  The most obvious being that my entire torso can now fit into the frame.

On top of that, my clothes fit much better.  Shirts that had been pushed to the back of the closet because they were too tight, now remain there, but only because they are ugly and should never be worn out in public.

I have muscles where fat used to be, and there is much less of the emergency fat I always keep around my belly and waist to be used as a flotation device.

Forty runs in fifty-five days.  Definitely exceeds my expectations.

Austin run 5I tried something different on my run today, and wanted to put it out there for those of you who run as well.

I read an article yesterday that stated it was good to walk during a run.  Now I’ve always thought that stopping to walk was a sign of failure, and the article addressed that right off in the first paragraph.

I don’t remember the exact argument, but the gist of it was that walking was good for your knees and other joints, and gives you a chance to “power up” again.

Since this was my 8th run in 9 days, and my legs were feeling heavy, I thought I’d test out this theory at the halfway point of my run.  My 4.25 milers (which I think are actually longer) always take a lot out of me, so today seemed like the perfect day to experiment.

So when I got to the halfway mark, I paused to take this photo…

Austin run 4And then I strolled for a little bit as I headed back to The House on the Hill.  It couldn’t have been more than 30 seconds, and then I was back at it.

When I had about 1.25 miles left, I could sense that I was dragging, so I stopped again for a little walking.  No photos this time, though.

Both times, when I got back to running, it was at a much faster pace than I’d been going before I stopped to walk.

So I would have to agree with the article and say that walking during a run can be very beneficial.  I’m definitely going to change my Philosophy on that, and make use of it on my longer runs.

I guess that even at 40 (runs), this old dog can still learn new tricks!

Austin run 3I also totally delivered (Get it? That’s a mailbox behind me!) on the run.  Even with the walking, I ended up back at The House on the Hill over two minutes faster than yesterday.

It was the best 4.25 mile time I’ve posted yet.

Kind of fantabulous for a 40th run, wouldn’t you agree?

I might sneak in another run tomorrow morning before my physical.  After that, I intend to keep up the five runs a week schedule for as long as my body and the weather permits.

Because of the healthier eating I’ve been doing, I cannot wait to devour my Chinese food lunch tomorrow.  All this hard work definitely deserves a reward.

Happy Sunday, Modern Philosophers!  I’ll be back later with another short story adventure featuring the Prince of Darkness…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fantabulous At 40!

  1. nolanwrites says:

    Well done on your 40th run!!

  2. awesome – the physical will go great!

  3. donedreaming says:

    Happy 40th !! Hope all goes well tomorrow. I’ve been cycling daily at the gym and doing 6k rides. Seems the way to build fitness is to go at a steady pace then peddle like mad for 30 seconds then back to a steady pace and repeat. Seems your body gets use to a steady pace and after a while starts to just tick over, but when you mix up the pace your body isn’t sure what’s coming next so stays ‘alert’. I’m sure there’s a more technical way to explain it !! 🙂

    • Austin says:

      Sounds like you are describing interval training. 🙂

      You must look great after all that cycling. 😉

      • donedreaming says:

        Don’t really look much different but I feel so much better. I didn’t need to lose weight but I did it to build some stamina back up, sitting in front of a computer for the last 7 years did nothing for my heart and lungs, now I can actually feel blood flowing through my veins!

      • Austin says:

        I know what you mean. The scale says I’m losing weight, but I feel like I’ve lost so much more. I feel very good. The self-confidence levels are rising!

  4. donedreaming says:

    Ps I’ll be interested to know if you enjoy the Chinese food as much as you anticipated. All that exercise might have changed how you want to eat as well ..

  5. jacobemet says:

    Great job, Austin! You’re a titan of motivation.

  6. D. Parker says:

    Congrats Austin, I’m tired just following your progress. 😉

  7. Ocean Bream says:

    Well congratulations, that is mighty impressive! I ALWAYS walk during my runs because I can’t run all the way xD You are a running motivation. Here’s to achieving all your goals! *cheers*

Leave a Reply

