Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/31/15

Giant mugI’m sorry this post is so late, Modern Philosophers, but it has been a very busy last day of my Summer vacation!

I went for my morning run as usual, but then I couldn’t reward myself afterwards with a big glass of chocolate milk, so that was a bit of a downer.

I also couldn’t refuel with a hearty breakfast because I needed to fast for my blood work.

That’s right, Modern Philosophers, today was the dreaded annual physical.  I hate going to the doctor, and I resent having to starve myself to have blood drawn.

So even though it was a vacation day, it pretty much felt like a typical Monday.

The last Monday of August, by the way.  Where in the world has the Summer gone?  Didn’t it just begin a couple of weeks ago?  How did I manage to miss it?

Even though I dislike going to the doctor, it was a mostly painless experience.  I got to brag to Dr. S about how I’ve been running like a madman and losing weight.  He was very impressed with that, and encouraged me to keep at it.

They took some blood, but I should be okay since I had some to spare.

When I left the medical center, the first thing I did was call my favorite Chinese restaurant to order lunch.

MondayAfter eight weeks of running and eating better, I was determined to finally reward myself with some Chinese food.  General Tso’s Chicken was exactly what the doctor ordered, even though Dr. S actually did not order it for me.  He probably would’ve frowned on it, but I didn’t care.

So now you understand why this post is so late.  I was too weak to write, and I only recovered my strength after eating my first Chinese food in two months.

I am happy to report that I did not put soy sauce on it like I usually do, and while I ate all the chicken, I left most of the rice.

So even when splurging, I do it in moderation.

I’ve got a quick errand to run, and then I want to work on my new screenplay.  I believe it’s at 46 pages now, which is pretty cool considering I didn’t even have an idea for a new script when I started vacation last week.

Finally, I want to wish a Happy Birthday to my little sister Jennifer.

Hope you are all having a great Monday.  Enjoy this last day of August!  I’m doing my best to make the most of this last day of Summer vacation…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 8/31/15

  1. ksbeth says:

    great work on the screenplay, and happy birthday to your sis. it is important to reward yourself now and then for all of your efforts. it’s what keeps us going –

Leave a Reply

