Dragged Kicking And Screaming Back To Reality

Austin pout 1I did not want to get out of bed this morning, Modern Philosophers.

I woke up before my alarm was set to go off because my internal anxiety clock jolted me from slumber.

It was my first day back to work.

The end of vacation.

The symbolic end of the Summer.

Pretty much, the end of all hope and happiness.

So why get out of bed?

I decided to hold a bed in.

That would teach them.

Teach the man.

Teach the authorities who say we need to work.

Let’s see them try to get me out of bed.

Come on.  I dare you.

Give it your best shot!

Austin pout 2You’re a smart bunch, Modern Philosophers.

I say that all the time to the interns.

If you don’t believe me, ask them!

Since you are so wise, I’m sure you’ve figured out that I eventually did get out of bed.  After all, I am a responsible adult who love the safety net of a weekly paycheck.

My Facebook news feed has been flooded recently with photos of my friends’ kiddos on their first day back to school.  Most of them looked pretty darn happy to be headed back to the daily grind.  Too damn happy if you ask me!

They must really dislike their parents and home life.

Who am I to judge, though?

After all, I wear a toga, not a judge’s robe.

Inspired by those back to school photos, I posted some photos of my own on Facebook this morning.  In fact, it was the four photos that grace this blog post.

I thought I would address the adult equivalent of the first day of school…

Austin pout 3Under these four photos, I posted the following Facebook status update:

Look who’s so excited for his first day back at work!  They grow up so fast, don’t they?  It seems like only yesterday this little guy was headed off to the first day of his internship!

I think it was the perfect way to give back to Facebook what it has given to me for the past week.  Plus, it made me smile and helped me get out the door to go to work.

It is my belief that more adults should post Facebook photos to parody the mass clogging of the news feed with the same annoying back to school photos.

It’s not like Mark Zuckerberg and his minions will toss you off the site for showing a little originality.  Go for it!

Austin pout 4The main reason it was so difficult to go back to work today was because I had gotten a delicious taste of what life would be like if I wrote full time.

I produced 52 pages of a new screenplay, and I wrote at least one blog post a day.  I also went running almost every day, did some reading, watched a lot of baseball, and simply relaxed.  Stress levels were at an all time low for 2015.

Then something happened last night to make it super duper extra difficult to return to my daily working stiff routine.

I got a call from Los Angeles.  There was talk of one of my screenplays moving closer to production.  There was also discussion of a writing job and an exciting secret project.

Needless to say, it got me very excited for a future in which I am a full time writer.

I will tell you more when I can, Modern Philosophers.  For now, though, I’ve got to keep it under wraps and just hope everything goes as planned.  If you want to think good thoughts, light a few candles, and cross all your digits for me, that would be cool.

Everything helps in this wonderful, wacky, unpredictable world of screenwriting!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dragged Kicking And Screaming Back To Reality

  1. Pamela Edwards says:

    Feel that way every Monday Austin ! Sounds like potentially good news , fingers crossed for you . Great pics btw !

  2. markbialczak says:

    It’s going to happen, Austin. The movie will be made, and you’ll be writing full time, just the way you want. I feel it. Knock on my Polish skull, better than wood! 🙂

  3. Wonderful expressions for back to work day! What kind of interesting face are you going to post after the house on the hill is buried in ***SNOW *** again? It’s coming soon! ;=\

  4. Nice!!! Woohoo! Cheers to your secret project. May it be a mighty one! 🙂

  5. Ocean Bream says:

    Sweeeeeeeeet! Music to your ears and hears, I gather 🙂 Your summer has been mighty productive then. You are going places, fellow blogger. 🙂

  6. donedreaming says:

    See what positivity and perspiration can do! I have fingers and toes crossed for you – try not to take too long to become famous, I feel cramp coming on 😀

  7. Mindy says:

    Congratulations on all the good news! I hope your workday wasn’t too bad 😊

Leave a Reply

