Day Is Done…

flagAs I do,

Every night

At this time,

When the sun

Disappears

From the sky,

I went out

To the porch

To take in

The flag.

I had learned

As a Boy Scout

That the flag

Should never

Be left

All alone

In the dark.

Tonight,

However,

A thought

Came to me

As I collected

Old Glory.

Here it was,

A long,

Holiday weekend,

And once again,

I was

All

By

Myself.

No one

Would be coming

To make sure

I wasn’t left

All alone

On the porch

In the dark.

bookheartI feel

As if

My heart

Has been flying

At half mast

For

Far

Too

Long.

Day is done,

Gone the sun

As well as

The love

That once

Warmed my heart.

As always,

I will hang out

The flag

Again tomorrow.

I will

Also allow

My lonely heart

To long

For the love

It so

Desperately

Misses.

Another day

Has ended.

Will my loneliness

Be ending

Soon,

Too?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Love, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Day Is Done…

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    Do not look, and you will find. Sad to say that. But I’ve had it, and that is always how it goes.

  2. amoyer2013 says:

    Have you seen the news about UC Irvine having banned the U.S. Flag because it is hate speech? Nice poem!

  3. Reblogged this on newauthoronline and commented:
    This poem speaks for itself. Kevin

  4. The problem with mail order brides is they are all rumpled and cross by the time the postman delivers them. Its very hot under all that gift wrap! Seriously the best of luck in finding someone. Kevin

  5. Tim Gatewood says:

    Hugs to you, dear Sir, manly hugs in your melancholy. This too shall pass.

Leave a Reply

