Monday Morning Coffee Club: Labor Day 2015

Giant mugHappy Labor Day, Modern Philosophers!

Mondays are drained of their evil powers when they’re a Holiday, aren’t they?  This is the third consecutive Monday I’ve been off, so I’m starting to warm up to the day a little.

This post is later than usual since I slept in to celebrate Labor Day.  Then I took advantage of the gorgeous Summer day to go for a run.

I did a 4 miler, and pushed myself to my best time since I started all this running nonsense nine weeks ago.  I was in such a good mood on my run that I was singing along to Foo Fighters’ “Best of You” as I sped (that’s using the term loosely) down Eastern Ave.

I’m sure I didn’t sound at all like David Grohl, but I thought it was an appropriate song to be belting out while I was pushing myself on this symbolic final weekend of the Summer.

The plan for the rest of this Labor Day is to relax, grill up a burger with some mushrooms and onions, and watch the Yankees game.

I’m a simple guy, and it doesn’t take much to make me happy.  I’d much rather spend a day off enjoying some peace and quiet, than at some loud, crowded party that I’d only want to leave so I could get home to peace and quiet.

Labor-DayAt some point today, I’m supposed to have a Skype meeting with Matthias about a potential writing project.  I’m not going to sweat it, though, because screenwriting stuff is always a lot of excitement surrounded by much disappointment and waiting for the next exciting thing to happen.

Besides, it’s Labor Day, so I really shouldn’t be working.

Did you guys read last night’s entry in the Sundays With Satan Short Story Series?  It’s been very popular today, and I made it longer than usual with a larger project in mind.  If you haven’t read it yet, here’s the link to the post.

I managed to reference the story of Creation, Nuns, Pulp Fiction, Snow White, apple phobias, and how to really win over the ladies in one short story.  Hope you enjoy it.

Well, my stomach is demanding that I give it an offering, so I’m going to wrap it up here.  Hope you all have a wonderful Labor Day!  Make the best of it because before you know it, Summer will be gone…

As always, there’s coffee.  Help yourselves.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Labor Day 2015

  1. I was just listening to that song! Great to listen to on a run. And wait a minute! Did you just say a 4 miler?! Whoa! I break a sweat running to the other side of the road 😜 Happy Labor Day! (<~ even spelt it the American way! Yay me!)

  2. somemaid says:

    There’s nothing like a post exercise burger!

Leave a Reply

