Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/14/15

Giant mugDon’t freak out, Modern Philosophers, but it’s Monday again.

After being on vacation the last times this troubling day has rolled around on the calendar, I finally have to buckle up and work on a Monday.

But all is not lost, my friends.  I’m off on Thursday, so I guess you could say that today is technically my Tuesday.

Thursday is my first Writer’s Day of the new TV Season, Modern Philosophers, which can mean only one thing: The Nite Show is back, baby!

After a Summer hiatus, Maine’s top rated late night talk show is making its triumphant return, and I couldn’t be more excited.  We are taping the first three shows of the season this Wednesday night at the beautiful Gracie Theatre.

Wish you could all be there.  It would make for a very cool blog field trip!

Something pretty awesome happened yesterday in regard to the show, Modern Philosophers.  Danny, the show’s host and producer, called me at The House on the Hill to discuss topics for the monologue jokes.

Normally, Danny sends all the writers an email with suggested topics for the upcoming taping.  We then try to craft the best jokes on those subjects, while also submitting jokes we come up with on our own.

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’ll always try to slip in some jokes on Star Wars, time travel, and Zombies just for the hell of it.

alexI was flattered that Danny called me to go over the list.

I felt a little like the gorgeous Alex Morgan celebrating a goal.  Okay, I just wanted to post a photo of her because it made me smile on a Monday morning.

I spent the afternoon watching football and writing jokes.  It felt good to be back at it, and to finally release all the monologue jokes that had been building up in my brain.

Last night, as I was trying to fall asleep, my head was flooded with more joke ideas.  I eventually couldn’t contain them, and had to turn on the light and jot down all the zingers in the notepad that I keep next to the bed.

Do you guys keep paper and pen handy for just that reason?  As a self proclaimed writing nerd, I was pretty thrilled earlier in the week.  I woke up in the middle of the night to jot down notes for a blog post, and when I read my scribblings the following morning, I realized that I had filled the last empty page in the pad.  Woo hoo!

So, last night’s jokes were the first things jotted in a new idea pad.  I like to keep the old books and then flip through them every once in a while.  It’s a cool way to venture down writing’s Memory Lane, and sometimes, I’ll come across a golden nugget that I never turned into a story.  That’s like finding buried treasure.

Well look at that.  By blogging about writing, I’ve actually put myself in a good mood.  The question is: Will this good mood be enough to get me through a Monday?

Only time with tell, Modern Philosophers.  Help yourself to some coffee, and keep in mind that there’s only seventeen hours left in the day.

Happy Monday!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/14/15

  1. Ananya Aishwarya says:

    nice piece…great writing !!!

    check out my blogs too, n follow plz..

    http://www.ananyaaishwarya.wordpress.com
    http://www.thankgoditsfridayblog.wordpress.com

  2. markbialczak says:

    Somebody I know is rising to the top of Danny’s writer pile. Congratulations, Austin! Happy new Late Nite season, my friend. May your idea pad fill fast.

Leave a Reply

