Sun Runner

Austin sun 1Sometimes,

When I run,

I get

The impression

That the Sun

Is out

To get me.

With every

Labored stride

Down the blacktop,

The Sun

Follows me.

Never letting me

Out of

Its focus.

A constant,

Heated spotlight

Trained on me

Like the

Laser sight

Of a sniper’s rifle.

Maybe

I’m just

Being paranoid,

But I

Haven’t heard

The Sun

Deny

This theory.

Perhaps

I get

A little delirious

From the heat.

After all,

It is difficult

To hold it

Together

When your body

Is drowning

In its

Own sweat.

I’m fairly certain

The Sun

Only

Does

This

To me.

I never hear

Other runners

Complaining

About being

The victim of

Sun Stalking.

Can I get

A restraining order

Against the Sun?

Or is that

Just called

Winter in Maine?

The body is

Seventy percent

Sweat.

That’s a fact,

And my

Inner Conspiracy Theorist

Is positive

That the Sun

Is trying

To boil me

In my

Own juices.

What

Have I done

To deserve this?

I’m just

A guy

Baking in

The Summer Sun,

Asking it

Not to

Melt me

Into the asphalt.

I know it’s

Ninety-three million miles

Away,

But I’m sure

The Sun

Has access

To my blog.

I hope

It reads

This poem,

And decides

To do

The right thing.

Maybe I’m crazy,

Maybe my brain

Has melted,

Maybe this

Runner’s High

Just makes me

Delusional.

I am a

Sun Runner.

Whatever that means.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sun Runner

  1. Oh yes…I get this. And the wind. Against me no matter which direction I run… 🙂

  2. Yes, what Monster Mermaid said: the sun and the wind. But the wind is usually my friend at these times, partially drying the sweat. Also, I’m not running for speed but for a set length of time, so when the wind is dead against me, I just tell myself it doesn’t matter and perhaps I will burn more calories. But speaking of the sun, one of my favorite things to do is to begin my run when it’s still dark out and have the sun be fully up as I do my cool-down walk. Oh, I MUST begin running again!

  3. Pahahaha! Great stuff – made me smile! I’m sure the sun reads your blog – it too has a twisted sense of justice. I’m laid up with a bad back right now – I look forward to being able to run again – so while you have my sympathies, you also have a touch of my envy as well…

  4. ksbeth says:

    better than a ‘mooner’ perhaps )

Leave a Reply

