Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/21/15

Giant mugIt’s Monday, Modern Philosophers, and I have one thing to say to you this morning:

BRRRRRR!!!

It is only 41 degrees, and I write this post with the hood pulled up on one of my heavier togas.

That sound you hear as you read this might be my teeth chattering.

It was Summer yesterday, but I think I’ve awakened in Autumn.

Or maybe Governor LePage just forgot to pay Maine’s share of the bill for the Sun.  He’s such a screw up, that I am sure this has to be his fault!

Either way, it’s chilly!  If I drank coffee, I’d consume that giant mug of it in the photo just to get warm!

I’m glad Mondays are a day off from running because I might have frozen to death out there.  Or at the very least, been uncomfortable.

Over the weekend, when it was still Summer, The Nite Show aired its Season Premiere!  It was so cool to watch the show on TV because the very first monologue joke of the new season was one I’d written.

How awesome is that?  I see it as a sure sign that this season will be a great one!

This will be my first full work week in about a month.  I’ve had vacation, Labor Day, and Writer’s Day sprinkled in over the last four weeks, so I haven’t had to work a full five days.  This one might be a real challenge.

To start off the week, I have to present a urine sample to a Medical Assistant.  That’s right, it’s Take Your Pee To Work Day, Modern Philosophers!

Actually, we are doing our Wellness Labs at work to see if we qualify for discounts on our Health Insurance.  I already did the blood work at my Annual Physical, but they still want my body’s apple cider so I can prove that I don’t smoke.

MondayI think it’s funny that someone who is totally disgusted by smoking has to prove he doesn’t do the thing he hates, but I get it.

This is one test I know I will pass with flying colors.  I did study a lot for it last night, though, just in case.  The Boy Scouts taught me to always be prepared!

That’s pretty much all I have to report from chilly Maine.  I didn’t expect this to be the first Coffee Club post for Autumn, but apparently it is.

Hopefully, it will warm up because I’m not ready to say goodbye to Summer quite yet.

Happy Monday!  Stay warm!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/21/15

  1. Same to you Austin. Though in my case, it should be Stay Cool! In Singapore today it’s 32 degrees C (which must be about 90 F!).

  2. donedreaming says:

    Happy Monday Austin from our side of the pond. It’s cold and raining cats & dogs over here – has been since about June! I had to giggle at you having to give a wee sample – I bet it’s pure Snapple 🙂

  3. ksbeth says:

    make mine a double!

Leave a Reply

