Autumn’s Outlook Is A Bit Foggy…

Austin fog 1Happy first day of Autumn, Modern Philosophers!

Mine is ending much better than it started, so I have to say that is a good thing.

I woke up at 3AM because the viral demon trying to take possession of my body decided it would be fun for me to have a coughing fit.

After that, I kept hearing this steady beeping from outside.  I don’t know if it was a faulty car alarm, an alarm clock next to the bed of a dead neighbor, or nearby construction crews, but I could not block it out.

The good thing about having a friend halfway around is world is that my 3AM insomnia is just a 3PM text conversation for her.

Silver linings and whatnot, am I right?

Despite not feeling well, and protests delivered via text from the other side of the world, I still hauled my butt out of bed for my morning run.

It’s good luck to go for a run on the first day or Fall, and even better luck to go for one on the first day of Autumn.  Plus, I’ve got myself brainwashed into wanting to go for a run.

How did that happen, Modern Philosophers?

This morning, I had multiple excuses to blow off my run: it was 46 degrees, I was sick, and a medical professional was ordering me to stay in bed.

Screw it.  Twelve weeks into my running routine, I was at a point where getting in my miles was far more important than grabbing an extra 90 minutes of sleep.

Austin fog 2This was my view of The House on the Hill after my run.  A thick, creepy fog was out in full force, and I read later that it had something to do with the cold temperatures combined with so many Mainers crying over the end of Summer.

Austin fog 3The temperature has been in the 40s the last three mornings, which is a sharp change from the weekend.  It’s usually been about 65 degrees when I go for my run, and it was only recently that I couldn’t sleep because it was so damn hot.

Summer is over and things change quickly in Maine.

Austin fog 4As my friend Don pointed out on Facebook after looking at my post-run pics, Wednesday is apparently garbage day in Maine.

So observant.  A gold star for him.

Austin fog 5I did actually manage to get in a run despite the cold, the fog, and the cold ravaging my body and making my head foggy.

I put another 3 miles under my toga, and something about the fog just made the run seem a little easier.

I was probably so distracted watching for Ghosts of Leper Pirates leaping at me out of the fog, that I barely noticed I was exercising and breaking a sweat.

Austin fog 6The really strange thing about this first day of Autumn, aside from my bizarre obsession with these train tracks, is the fact that I am writing this out on the front porch in a tee shirt and shorts.

After waking up to 46 degrees and fog so thick I could barely see my fat shadow, it is now 73 degrees and a perfect Summer night.

I don’t get it, but I am certainly not complaining.

Austin fog 7This first day of Autumn also brought me a little award presented by the company’s CEO.  Apparently, they like it when you stick around for 5 years and they give you a fancy certificate and pin and allow you to shake the big guy’s hand.

I was under the impression that I’d be eligible for parole after serving 5 years, but apparently, today was just an awards ceremony rather than a meeting with the parole board.  Damn!

Austin fog 8Even though the fog cleared outside, and Autumn was magically transformed back into Summer, things still remained foggy in my head.

My voice has been coming and going all day (much to the delight of many!), I’ve had a nagging cough, and my head has been pounding with more than Deep Thoughts.

So, I relented on the way home and stood in the cough/cold aisle for a good ten minutes.  Hopefully, being that close to all that medicine will have me feeling better in no time!

yogiBefore I go, this devoted Yankees fan must say goodbye to one of the game’s legends.

Yogi Berra died yesterday.  While Yogi’s playing days were before my time, I do remember him as a manager, and my Dad would regale me with stories of his prowess.  Plus, it’s hard to be a fan of the Yankees, or baseball in general, and not know about Yogi Berra.

It’s not over ’til it’s over, Yogi, and I’m sorry the end had finally come.

You will be missed!  My Yankees cap is off to you tonight…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Autumn’s Outlook Is A Bit Foggy…

  1. jan says:

    Sorry you’re feeling snuffly! Hope it doesn’t last long.

  2. Jake Kale says:

    Great pictures! Years of playing the Silent Hill games have given me a healthy fear of fog and the nightmares they may (but most likely do not) conceal, so I salute your bravery!

  3. Fog makes for good pics…not. so much for colds though…

  4. raphaela99 says:

    Hoping you feel much better quickly! In Australia we have Influenza B doing the rounds and so many are sick. Its school holidays here and its Spring, with beautiful warm days and sunshine.

  5. donedreaming says:

    Loving the photos, especially the last train track one. The Fog still scares the pants off me, watched it last weekend as I hid behind the dog ..

  6. Over here in NZ we’re getting into spring. Oddly, we have very similar fog and rain at the moment (so much rain that hills are migrating into roads, rivers are deciding to visit neighbouring houses, etc etc). The Met Service has predicted an El Nino summer with droughts and is wondering why everybody’s leaping about cheering.

    Hope your cold gets better soon.

  7. markbialczak says:

    I hope you’re feeling better, Austin. Wow, the temperature bottomed out on you up there and fast! And then bounced back up.

    Five years at the grind. Good for you. Maybe next year. 🙂

    We’ll all miss The Yog. He was New York personified. I wrote a tribute on my blog, and mlb.com included it in a roundup of bloggers. How cool is that? Halfway down they published my lead and my link!

    http://mlbcomblogs.mlblogs.com/2015/09/23/paying-tribute-to-yogi/

    Thanks for letting me share.

Leave a Reply

