Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/28/15

Giant mugIt’s the first Monday of Autumn, Modern Philosophers.  Or Fall, for those of you who aren’t the best spellers.

As much as I dislike Mondays, I was overjoyed to awaken this morning and discover that the world still existed.  You see, before I fell asleep last night, I noticed that the moon was slowly disappearing from the night sky.

I assumed this meant that End of Days was upon us because without the moon, the oceans would no longer be held in check and a great flood would wash us off the planet.  I went to bed in full scuba gear, thinking that would at least give me a fighting chance once the flash floods swept through Maine.

Of course, I knew I couldn’t survive in a water world too long, given my horrible swimming skills and fear of water, but I didn’t want to go down without a fight.

It’s what a Modern Philosopher would do!

Despite the impending apocalypse, my Sunday night freaky dream show went on as scheduled.  I won’t go into the details since reliving the dreams will only give me the willies, but some of the topics were: the mysterious disappearance of the actor who plays Elliott on Mr. Robot, the Jets and 49ers playing an official NFL game on a local Little League baseball field, and my trying to determine if my ex-wife was real or a hallucination.

Good stuff as always.

chili 2I spent the afternoon yesterday making a huge pot of chili.  I always experiment a little with my recipe, and this batch included pepperoni, mushrooms, baked beans, and a ton of onion.

I sampled it last night, and it tasted quite delicious.  So, if anyone would like to finance my chili restaurant, please let me know in the comments section.

Autumn has definitely arrived in my neck of the woods.  While the temperatures are still working their way up into the 70s during the day, they plummet at night.  Some nights this week it has gotten into the 30s and that’s just not right.  I refuse to turn on the heat this early in the year.

In fact, yesterday, I had the front door and windows open to coax the heat in from outside to warm The House on the Hill.  That did the trick for free as the temperature slowly rose several degrees on the thermostat in the living room.

I’d love to be able to hold off putting down the storm windows and relying on the furnace for a few more weeks.

The interns are signalling that it’s time to wrap it up and get ready for work.  I’m not sure I’m mentally prepared to return to the workplace, so I’m going to spend some extra time this morning getting myself into the proper mindset.

I’m not sure what that means, but it sounded good.

Help yourself to some coffee.  Do your best to get through this horrible day.  Hopefully, the moon will be there when the sun sets tonight.

Only seventeen hours left of Monday…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 9/28/15

  1. Ula says:

    You have a great sense of humor. The chili sounds tasty.

  2. Christie says:

    Never thought of putting pepperoni in chili, sounds yummy!

  3. Ali Isaac says:

    I had a s**t Monday today! Hope Tuesday is better. I’d prefer to skip this week altogether, and move straight on into next week. What do you think?

  4. Joseph Nebus says:

    I was figuring to start autumn with its second week, or maybe third, since there’s pinball leagues those weeks and none this week. I hope that doesn’t disrupt anybody’s plans.

Leave a Reply

