Well, Well, Wellness…

running 3Happy Saturday, Modern Philosophers!

In case you are looking for Autumn, I’ve found it right here in Maine.  I went out for a run this morning, and Fall kissed me right on the lips with a brisk wind, a dark sky, and a chill that I was never quite able to shake.

Sadly, given the current state of my dating life, it was the best kiss I’ve received in some time…

I do enjoy running in this weather, though.  Maybe it’s because I want to get back to The House on the Hill quickly to warm up and watch football, or perhaps it’s just easier to run when the heat isn’t so oppressive.

Regardless, I set out to do my 4.25 miler in under 48:00.

I ended up doing it in 45:56.  Color me impressed and all the shades of Fall Foliage season!

Austin 3I wanted to tell you about something cool that happened at work yesterday, Modern Philosophers, as “cool” is a word I rarely use to describe my job.

I’ve mentioned my company’s Wellness Program in previous posts, including that recent one about the demands for my urine.

Yesterday, David, our Wellness Coach and a fan of the blog, asked if he could interview me as a Wellness Success Story for the company newsletter.

I wasn’t too keen on doing it because I’ve only lost 18 lbs so far, and I won’t think of myself as a success until I’ve lost my goal of 50 lbs.  However, David is a nice guy and I was having the sort of day where I needed a little break from my desk.

Austin 1It was flattering to be thought of as a success story, even though I’m only a third of the way to my goal.  Now, of course, I feel like the pressure is really going to be on to keep up the hard work because all my coworkers will be waiting for the success story to fail!

Wow, that was so cynical of me.  It must be the New Yorker in me.

Or all those years of having my Evil Stepmother point out that I wasn’t perfect.

I told David that one of the things that motivates me is the feedback I get from my fellow Modern Philosophers.  When you guys post a comment about how my running has inspired you to be more active, it puts a smile on my face and pushes me to keep going.

I love the whole idea of “inspiration through perspiration”, and think I might have that put on the back of one of my running togas!

So thank you all for being a part of this.  You really should read my company newsletter because you do get a mention in there!

Austin 2For some reason, I was embarrassed to admit that part of my motivation for all this healthy living was my desire to find someone special.

It just seemed either vain or pathetic to say I thought I’d improve my chances of finding a girlfriend if I looked better.  It’s true, though.  Who wants to date a fat, lazy guy in a toga?

I told David that all this running, lifting weights, and eating better has made me feel much more confident.  Hopefully, that confidence will come in handy someday with a woman.

Once again, I have to point out that I haven’t been on a single date since I’ve lost all this weight.  Maybe the ladies prefer Fat Austin?

Finding a date is a strong motivator, but thankfully, it’s not the only one as that isn’t going very well at all.

Austin 4I also had to mention how I get teased for posting selfies on Facebook after my runs.  I explained that the photos are meant to motivate me, and I really don’t care if my friends make fun of them.

The way I see it, posting photos after every run is how I prove that I stuck to my running routine for that day.  Not that I think anyone is actually paying attention and holding me accountable, but I would know if I missed a day and didn’t post a pic.

Plus, I use the photos for my blog posts.  While they are meant to inspire you, those blog posts are another way I hold myself accountable.  If I stopped blogging about my runs, you’d know I’d given up on my exercise program, and I’d hope at least one of you would call me out on it.

You would, right?

Hope you’re all having a great Saturday!  Try to do something active if you can…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Well, Well, Wellness…

  1. donedreaming says:

    Definitely get the slogan on your running toga, in fact I may get a T shirt printed up – “I’m following Awesome Austin – Inspiration through Perspiration”. Sounds like a winner to me! Newsletter today, radio and tv next ..

  2. 18 pounds! Austin your doing great buddy! It’s going in the right direction, down. Autumn hit here this morning too. It’s windy and I love that the leaves are turning. Happy Saturday. :O)

  3. grannyK says:

    Wow, 18 pounds is great! And yes, keep posting selfies! We love them!

  4. congrats on your shrinkage! I, myself, am just about to get out on my bike on this fine Saturday afternoon…

  5. Joseph Nebus says:

    A third of the way to the goal is nothing to dismiss. It’s hard enough getting measurably closer to a weight-loss goal; that should be celebrated. Probably not with a large dessert.

  6. D. Parker says:

    Congrats Austin, I think your dedication is cool, way to hold yourself accountable…and it’s working. 🙂

  7. Wow! You’ve come so far already, good job and keep it up… because I’d totally be that person to call you out on it. 😉

  8. Noblesophie says:

    You are completely funny and fabulous. Love it all.

  9. Full disclosure: I haven’t read this post yet. I keep looking at the picture of legs in my Reader (yours? sexy!) and feeling worse about myself for not running. Then this morning after making another comment on another of your posts, I clicked out, saw the legs again, and said, “I think I WILL go running.” Yay me. I shall write a blog post about it, giving you proper credit for thus inspiring me (I may even go back and read this post).

  10. Pingback: Running through the Window | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

