Friday Night Think Tank: Animal House

Doc BrownHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers.

The week started so well, but it’s ended on a stressful note.  Cali, my little black cat, isn’t feeling well, so she had to make her first trip to the vet yesterday.

There’s nothing major wrong with her, but she does need to be given some medications, and that is not going well.

In fact, it’s going so poorly that I kinda had a little breakdown last night and then spent the entire day thinking that Cali hates me.  Things are a little better tonight, but there is definitely still some tension and anxiety at The Cat House on the Hill.

As I am typing this, Cali just jumped up into my lap and is purring like mad.  This is making me feel much better.  This unexpected bonding moment is lowering stress levels and allowing me to smile.

Still, I’m going to be a little distracted in the Think Tank tonight.  You guys can keep the Deep Thoughts flowing without me.  You know the drill by now.

This week’s topic:  Who’s got some tips on how to give a feisty black cat her antibiotics by mouth and get the ear drops where they belong?  Anything will help at this point!

Cali CatLast night was an absolute disaster, Modern Philosophers.  I’m not too manly to admit that I broke down and cried not only because I couldn’t give Cali the meds she needed to feel better, but because I also feared I’d terrorized her by trying to force her to swallow the pill.

I honestly thought she was going to break her neck as he flailed and squirmed to get out of my lap and avoid swallowing it.

She never did take the pill despite my clamping her mouth closed with it in her mouth.  She always ended up spitting it out, and then running off in fear like I was the worst Kitty Daddy in the world.

After several frantic calls to the vet, it was decided that I would give up on the pill for the night and bring Cali in tomorrow morning so the techs could do it.

I managed to get the ear drops in, but didn’t even try the antibiotics.

The vet stressed the antibiotics were very important, so I focused on those this morning.  I was able to get most of them into her mouth, and she only spit out a tiny bit on my leg.

The ear drops were not even attempted.

She seems calmer tonight, so I might try to sneak in the ear drops later when she’s on my lap or next to me on the couch.

The vet techs are supposed to show me easier ways to administer the meds when I go there tomorrow, but I’m not looking forward to a week’s worth of battling my sweet, loving little black cat.

So, any tips would be greatly appreciated.  Also, if any of you would like to stay at The House on the Hill this week and help me with medicine time, my door is open.

Cali Cat 2Finally, thank you to the friend who called this morning and let me vent and whine to her while she quietly listened.  Well, we did fight a little like we always do, but she was very sweet and I really needed that.

Look at how cute Cali is!

Happy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Animal House

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    Wrap her up in a towel tightly, to avoid her being able to claw at you. Hold her in one arm, use your thumb and index finger of the other to pry open her mouth, and shove them in, then hold her mouth close for a second. If you can find someone to hold her while you do it, that works even better. If your timing is off and you don’t want to get bit, you might want to wear good gloves.

  2. floridaborne says:

    How big is the pill–if you were looking at it as a human pill? Is it in powder in a capsule? When I have to give my cats antibiotic, I drain tuna juice out of a can, mix enough of it with the crushed (or powder) antibiotic to make about 1/8 teaspoon of liquid, draw it into a syringe (none of my have needles–the vet can provide one for you) and squirt it into my cat’s mouth. It can’t be enough liquid to spit out and sometimes the tuna can make it palatable enough that kitty will swallow it without complaint.

    Not all cats will fall for this, but I’ve found that almost anything is better than trying to shove a pill down a cat’s throat, including asking the doctor to give a shot that will last for a few days. 🙂

    • Austin says:

      Well, the vet will do the pill tomorrow. I just need to give her the meds by mouth and into her ears the next few days. Just tried the ears and she ran away.

      She is on my lap now, but I don’t want to betray her trust by trying the meds again…

  3. Suzanne says:

    Cats forgive. Especially when they feel better from the antibiotics. Would attach a photo if I could, of my cat – of course.

  4. Suzanne says:

    They are also very dramatic.

  5. barbtaub says:

    You might A’s vet to prescribe Rx in liquid form. Then you get one of those little med syringe thingies like for babies. Burrito the kitty in a towel and put your fingers either side of back of her jaw until her mouth opens and then.squirt that stuff at the back of their throat. Followed by much treat & petting action of course.

    Then, just to show there’s no hard feelings, give her a bath.

  6. donedreaming says:

    Oh no, I’m sorry Cali isn’t well. I know how upset you must be because I was the same when I saw how distressed mine got when I tried giving her tablets. As others have mentioned, I wrapped her up in a big towel to keep the claws out of my face and then put the tablet in a pill feeder (looks like a hypodermic minus the needle with a plunger inside it. I use to do it kneeling down with Lily clamped between my knees, open her mouth with one hand and push the feeder right in and plunge the tablet to the back of her mouth so she couldn’t get her tongue round it and flick it back out. She use to sulk for a bit but came round when I made a fuss of her. Good luck 🙂

  7. Tim Gatewood says:

    I’ve had to give pills, shots and under-the-skin fluid to ours over the years. The only thing I’ve found that works on pills is pill pockets, which you can get at the vet or at PetSmart. You put the pill in the pocket and roll it around until the pill is covered. Some of ours would eat those as a treat; some would spit the pill out when they got to it; some would smell a trick and have nothing to do with it. But it worked sometimes. Liquid is better, even if they spit some of it out. Sorry to hear your pretty Cali is ill; glad your vet is handling the meds for you.

  8. markbialczak says:

    Yeah, the pill pocket is a neat trick, Austin. But having the vet do it as happened in the office vixit is even better. 🙂 You’re a good cat daddy, dude. They both know it.

Leave a Reply

