If At First You Don’t Freak Out, Try Try Again!

Vet 1There’s nothing like waking up early on a Saturday morning with a knot in your stomach because you are extremely anxious about the morning’s activity, Modern Philosophers.

No, it was not time for my bi-monthly shower.  That’s next weekend.

The reason I was so nervous was because I had stupidly agreed to bring both Cali and Luna to the vet this morning to try to make my feisty kitties med compliant.

If taking one kitty to the vet was so stressful that my head almost exploded, how bad could it be to bring them both at the same time?

I mean, I only have one head.  It’s not like it can explode twice, right?

BrainCali was much better when I returned to The House on the Hill last night, even going so far as to curl up in my lap to purr, but after I tried to apply her ear drops, she spent the rest of the night cowering from me.

Sad face.

Luna has never been to the vets since I adopted her, so I had no idea how this would go.  Or if I’d even be able to corral them into their carriers.

I was outnumbered 2 to 1 mind you…

However, I need for them to be well, so I had to do it.  I put on my kitty friendliest toga, the one that has cartoon mice on it and smells like catnip, and gave it my best shot.

Besides, my boy Trent taught me to always double down when going to the vet.

You always double down at the vet. It's so money!

You always double down at the vet. It’s so money!

So who am I to ignore such sage advice, Modern Philosophers?

Vet 7These are the meds that were causing all the problems.  I was especially worried about the de-wormer.

That was the pill I couldn’t get Cali to take, and the one that she fought me so hard to avoid that I feared I traumatized her.

Luna needed the de-wormer, too, but she just hissed at me when I tried to get close.

Want to know the crazy part?  Every time I say, hear, or think “de-wormer”, I think of Dean Wormer from Animal House!

Fat, drunk, and with worms is no way to go through life, cat!

Fat, drunk, and wormy is no way to go through life, cat!

Cali and Luna were offended that Dean Wormer called them fat and drunk, but they will both cut back on the catnip.

Alas, they still didn’t want to take the de-wormer pill.

Vet 1Cali wailed in the car like I was taking her to a haunted house, but does the vet’s office look at all scary, Modern Philosophers?

Luna was pretty mellow.  I put on a soft rock station and tried to lull them into complacency with some Genesis.

Cali was not buying it.

Luna, on the other hand, asked me to buy her a Genesis CD.

Vet 3They did travel in luxury.  Fleece towels.  Kitty toys.  Come on!  They are spoiled.

Vet 8They told me to bring them before they opened for the day, so that there would be no other animals around to freak out Cali.

Poor Cali is the sweetest, most loving kitty I’ve ever known, and I hate the fact that the vet staff thinks she is too feisty.

Vet 5The vet tech brought in a towel because she thought she would need it to swaddle Cali Cat should she lose her cool again.

However, Dr. M, who is totally awesome, held her and petted her and determined she was calm and wouldn’t be a problem.

And he injected her with Dean Wormer.

What the hell am I doing in a cat's blood stream?

Why the hell am I in a cat’s blood stream?

I was so relieved to have that over and done.  Then he showed me how to give her the ear drops and the antibiotics.

Cali did struggle with those meds, so Dr. M did see what I was up against.  He just gave me a pep talk about trying my best.

And he promised that whenever Cali needs meds in the future, he would do it via a shot in the office so I wouldn’t have to double down on the stress again.

Vet 6Luna, who you can see in the carrier in the foreground, was a very good girl.  Dr. M gave her Dean Wormer and the two other shots she would’ve gotten at her appointment in two weeks.  Now we don’t have to go through the stress of that extra visit.

Dr. M said Luna was very healthy, and just should get her teeth cleaned at some point.

Vet 2We were in and out of the office fairly quickly.  Hopefully, I will be able to administer Cali’s meds for the rest of the week without too much trouble.

I was most concerned about the worm issue, so I am extremely relieved now that they have both had a shot to take care of that.

Vet 4Cali whined the whole way home, but Luna was very quiet.

As soon as we got inside the house, I let them out of their carriers.  Guess what?  They then spent the next five minutes circling them, staring at them, and acting like they wanted to go back inside them.

Weird kitties.

Right now, Luna is curled up next to me on the couch, and Cali is curled up on a fleece blanket in the next room.

All is well at The House on the Hill.

My head did not explode.  Not even once.

Praise Zeus for that!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to If At First You Don’t Freak Out, Try Try Again!

  1. grannyK says:

    So glad that went well. I have been shredded my cats when trying to give meds!

  2. ksbeth says:

    i’m so glad you all made it through the process )

  3. There are a couple of “pill popper” aids. One is a pocket treat with the pill concealed in the pocket. The other shoots the pill down the throat quickly. I’ve used both methods on my cats. They save a lot of dodging claws.

  4. LucyJartz says:

    I am glad your head did not explode. That would have freaked out your kits for sure. My grand-kit went to the vet this week for a new and improved everything prevention med, deanwormer/fleas-mosquitoes-etcetera. Super-strength formula eliminated that mean old allergic reaction. He’s pet-able and contented again. Similar good health to all of you too.

  5. Glad your furry friends are okay. Used to put any meds for the cat in the cat fod, but he always ate around it. Cats, eh?

  6. markbialczak says:

    Maybe you should leave the carriers out, and they’ll curl up in their own, Austin, like my Ellie B aka Dogamous Pyle does in her crate!

Leave a Reply

