Friday Night Think Tank: Scary Movie Secrets

Doc BrownHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

I am so glad this week is over.  All I want to do tonight is veg out in front of the TV as I catch up on what’s clogging my DVR, and simply give my overworked brain the night off from thinking way too much.

I know that seems to be the exact opposite of what I’m constantly preaching on this blog, Modern Philosophers.  However, it’s sometimes necessary to cut off the flow of Deep Thoughts and give your gray matter a chance to recharge.

Halloween Season is in full swing in Maine, and it’s hard not to think of Horror Movies this time of year.  I thought we could bring the Halloween Spirit into the Think Tank tonight by talking about our favorite Scary Movies.

Of course, there’s got to be a twist because any good thriller has a surprise that totally catches us off guard, right?

Join me in the Think Tank.  There’s Halloween candy…

This week’s topic: Tell us a story about a Scary Movie experience that we wouldn’t normally associate with a Horror Movie.

Halloween poster 2Halloween, John Carpenter’s original 1978 classic, will always hold a special place in my memory, Modern Philosophers.

Not only is it one of my favorite Horror Flicks, but it also played a very important role in my relationship with J, the college sweetheart, who would grow up to be my ex-wife.

We met because we lived in the same dorm at NYU.  J might have been dating one of my best friends, and I might have had a crush on one of her roommates.

The details are all vague at this point.

What I do remember quite well, however, is that we both stayed in the dorm over Thanksgiving break the year we met.  I had my high school reunion in the city and I didn’t feel like going to Virginia for the holiday.  Just because my family had moved to Richmond didn’t mean I ever had it call it home.

J didn’t have the money to fly home to Evanston for a few days to be with her Mom, or to Los Angeles to be with her Dad.  Like a lot of out of state NYU students, she spent her Turkey Day eating in the dining hall.

Yummy!

Somehow, J and I wound up alone in the dorm’s TV room, which was down in the basement.  Even though it was one holiday too late, we decided to watch Halloween.  In the dark.  Sitting really close on the couch.  Just a couple of college kids who hadn’t gone home for Thanksgiving.

And, as usually happens while watching a grisly movie about promiscuous high school kids getting sliced up by a masked psychopath, romance blossomed.

J and I kissed for the very first time during the movie.

Halloween posterHow could a love that took root during a Slasher Flick not end up being eternal?

And so, Modern Philosophers, if you ever see me break into a cold sweat when someone plays the Halloween theme, it’s not because I’m frightened of Michael Myers.

No, no, no…it’s because I’m scared to death that I’m still married to J and she’s going to barge into the room and start fighting with me again at any second!

That’s my unexpected Scary Movie Story.  What’s yours?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Scary Movie Secrets

  1. floridaborne says:

    It was the early 1970’s. My boyfriend (later my 1st husband) had a friend who–to be blunt–creeped me out. Not that he looked sleazy, the creep factor poured out of his eyes like a hungry cat eying a tiny mouse.

    He lived with a housemate in the countryside on a gravel road, and often visited, but never at 1 in the morning. We awoke to a knock on the door, finding Mr. Creep-out standing there holding a very sharp knife and an overstuffed back pack. He asked my boyfriend to store the knife for him. He couldn’t take it with him on his trip out of town, but he’d be back to retrieve it.

    The next day there was a news report about a house in the woods that burned down in a fire wiht one casualty; a man burned beyond recognition. I found out that the man who died was Mr. Creep-out’s housemate.

    The time of the fire was estimated to be around midnight and even though the cause of the fire was determined to be a cigarette dropped onto carpeting, I spent days…weeks.. wondering when Mr. Creepout was coming for us.

    …and he never returned for his knife.

  2. Louise says:

    Growing up, my family always went to the same resort for summer holidays and I grew up with the same kids who also did the same with their families.

    When I was about 12-13, I saw Pet Sematary there for the first time. The resort owners had a cat who was a dead ringer (ha ha!) for Church – the cat in the movie. For good couple years after that, that cat was ALWAYS Church as far as we were concerned – and I have randomly never forgotten the name of the cat in the movie – every now and again it impresses people during small talk 😉

  3. Gail Kaufman says:

    The scariest movie I ever saw Wilbur – about an army of rats. It was at a drive-in and there was a bobble-head figure behind the back seat. My boyfriend thought it would be funny to make the head move and have me turn around when I was already squeamish from watching the aggressive rats on the screen. Dumped the boyfriend. Still terrified of rodents.

  4. I was delighted to see “Nightmare on Elm Street” for the first time one summer when I was living on, you guessed it, Elm Street in Potsdam, NY. And I seem to remember some story going around (probably an urban legend, although Potsdam is not exactly an urban area) that Wes Craven wrote the movie based on something unsavory that actually happened on Elm Street in Potsdam. That was not what delighted me. What delighted me was that I had a BOYFRIEND, which I hardly ever had at any point in my life. How great was this going to be? A scary movie with a boyfriend to hold onto if I got scared! Long story short (oh yeah, too late), I wasn’t scared; I was grossed out. The boyfriend dumped me shortly thereafter. Thanks for bringing up THAT memory!

Leave a Reply

