I Just Want To Go As A Skinny Guy For Halloween

Austin 7I was walking aimlessly around Walmart this morning, Modern Philosophers, when it became apparent that Halloween is just around the corner.

Sure, I know it’s been Halloween Season in Maine since October 1, but the big day itself is just two weeks from today!

And I still have absolutely no idea what I’m going to wear for a costume.

As I reported earlier this week on the blog (Pulp Fiction Costumes), I think Mayor McCheese and Zeus have first prize locked up for the Halloween Costume Contest, but I still want to be something cool.

So as I wandered Walmart in search of thermal socks for my enormous Monkey Boy feet, passing Halloween Costume ideas in almost every aisle, I gave some serious Deep Thought to what character I wanted to play on October 31.

Then it came to me: I am going as a Skinny Guy for Halloween!

Austin 1Look at the progress I’m making on that costume, Modern Philosophers.

This is the Darth Vader tee shirt I bought at Walmart today.  It was not on my shopping list, so I’m sure they used the Jedi Mind Trick to get me to buy it.

It was only five dollars, and how awesome does it look on my much skinnier body?

I’m a huge Star Wars fan, and I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve ever owned a tee shirt depicting characters from the film.

Could that be what’s wrong with my life?  Will The Force suddenly be strong in me now that this item is in my wardrobe?  Or will I turn to the Dark Side since Lord Vader is now on my chest?

Only time will tell, Modern Philosophers.  I will search my feelings and get back to you.

Let’s get back on topic, though, and talk about my Skinny Guy costume…

Austin 3I went running in the rain this morning, Modern Philosophers.  That’s how dedicated I am to making this Halloween Costume a reality.

It was a pretty good rain, too, so I put on a windbreaker over my running toga and kept an eye out for puddles.

The rainy run was a fitting end to a horrible week.  Work was very stressful, so I hope the rain washed away all the negativity and put me back on track for a positive weekend.

It was run #74 since this madness started back in July, and I can’t believe I’ve kept up with my five days a week running program for fifteen weeks.

Pat on the back for you, Modern Philosopher!

Austin 2While I was at Walmart, I did take a serious step towards keeping up this running routine for the Winter.

I bought a ridiculously bright orange sweatshirt and matching knit hat.  My thinking behind those hideous purchases was that the color would make me easier to spot when I went on my early morning Winter runs.  It’s much darker out there during those months, and I wanted to make sure I’d be easily visible to traffic.

I also bought a pair of thin, fleece gloves, which should be perfect for keeping my hands toasty on those runs.

So even though my immediate goal is to be Skinny Guy for Halloween, I clearly intend to keep the costume going for the entire year.

Austin 5Some mornings, I look like a Ghost out on the road in my bright white, hooded running toga.  I’m a friendly Ghost, albeit it a very sweaty one.

I wonder if I will look like the Ghost of a Hunter out there in my bright orange this Winter.  Only time will tell I guess.

It really is my goal to keep up the fitness routine even in the snow and cold, and I’m hoping that running will be such a regular part of my life by then that I won’t even hesitate to hit the road when it’s covered in snow.

Austin 6My trip to Walmart was a success, but not just because I survived the encounter and finalized my Halloween Costume.

I also bought some cool things for The House on the Hill in an attempt to make this place a little less like a place picked clean in a divorce, and more like a home.

As much as I hate shopping, it was a fun adventure because I was texting and sending photos of the experience to that someone, who seems like she wants to be special, but one can never be too sure since this is my dating life we’re talking about here.

It did make me realize how much I miss having a better half, who could help me make shopping decisions and decide how to redecorate The House on the Hill.

Maybe that will happen someday, too, Modern Philosophers.

Right now, though, this guy in the cool Star Wars tee shirt is just focused on being a Skinny Guy for Halloween!

Have you settled on a Halloween Costume yet?  What’s the coolest piece of Star Wars memorabilia in your wardrobe?  Did you exercise today?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I Just Want To Go As A Skinny Guy For Halloween

  1. I like Vader. I hate Halloween.

  2. Delilah says:

    Vader rocks. Great idea.

  3. D. Parker says:

    Love Star Wars. No costume ideas yet. Love Halloween. Several Star Wars shirts. Yes, but not enough yet. So far so good on the costume, Austin and love the t-shirt. 🙂

  4. Ocean Bream says:

    I exercised by scrubbing my mother’s house down, for two hours, and it’s quite a large house. So I’m beat! But I won’t say no to a bike ride this evening 🙂 I’m really pleased to hear you’ve kept up with your goal, and so remarkably well! Also loved the Jedi mind trick witticism, made me chuckle. Best of luck!

  5. ksbeth says:

    congrats, austin. great look for you. i’m going to be a squirrel )

Leave a Reply

