Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/26/15

Giant mugI can just tell by my mood, and without even having to look at the calendar, that it’s Monday, Modern Philosophers.

And it’s the last Monday of Halloween Season to boot, which means that the festive atmosphere that has made Maine such an amazing place for the past twenty-five days will soon be replaced by a lot of BLAH!

I always have trouble going back to work after Writer Boy takes the reigns.  I had a phenomenal time on Friday during The Nite Show’s road trip to Houlton.

Not only did I get to be a part of the TV production process as one of the show’s writers, but I also got to fill in as Cue Card Boy.  While I was totally nervous to tackle the pivotal role of Cue Card Boy, I knew I had to deliver because the entire taping hinged on my ability to make sure Danny knew what to say.

Besides, I already put words in Danny’s mouth by writing jokes for him, so being Cue Card Boy and making sure the right words came out of his mouth was a mere extension of something I did regularly.

The taping went very well, we had a little staff dinner at a local diner afterwards, and then on Saturday, I wrote a sketch that I was asked to tackle at the staff dinner.

After being in full Writer Boy and Cue Card Boy mode, it’s a drag to put on my Working Stiff Toga and allow myself to be chained to a desk again for forty hours.

irishI’m a bit anxious this morning on top of the usual Monday nonsense.  Someone very important to me just boarded a long international flight to Ireland.  We’ve been texting since I woke up, but now she is on the plane and communication must cease.

I’m not a big fan of flying, and it makes me very nervous to think that she will spend several hours flying across continents.

I just wish her plane had a hyperdrive, so she could be safely frolicking with the Leprechauns in an instant.

Halloween is on Saturday.  I’ve already bought four bags of candy for trick or treaters who will never show at The House on the Hill.

I don’t understand why my street isn’t more popular.  There are plenty of homes on my block, and I know I always have great candy.

Hopefully, I don’t end up devouring all the leftover chocolate.  That would not be an approved part of my new running and healthy eating program.

We are having a Halloween Party at work on Friday, so I guess that’s something to look forward to on a Monday.  It’s a Cauldron Luck, which is what my Witch friends call it when they have a Potluck.  Witty, right?

I guess I better wrap this up so I can focus on properly fretting about her flight all morning.  I know she will be reading this post at some point as she soars high above sea level, so I want to make sure she knows I am thinking about her.

As for the rest of you, help yourself to some coffee.  I told the interns to add a little pumpkin spice to it in honor of the Halloween Season.  So don’t ever say that I don’t spice up your Mondays.

Remember, only seventeen hours left of this miserable day.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 10/26/15

  1. donedreaming says:

    Happy Monday Austin 🙂 Could you find a permanent job in writing and production or is it just seasonal? I don’t know what you do as a ‘day’ job but it doesn’t sound like it’s where your heart and soul lies.

  2. Gail Kaufman says:

    About that leftover candy, the trick is to buy candy you hate and bring leftovers to the office, preferably far from your desk. At 3 p.m., office slaves will devour almost anything that contains sugar.

  3. donedreaming says:

    I’m currently open to offers ..

Leave a Reply

