Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/2/15

Giant mugCan you believe it’s already November, Modern Philosophers?

That means that Halloween Season has officially ended, and all the Otherworldly Beings who spent the month vacationing and celebrating the holiday in Maine have left to go back to their normal lives.

I have to admit that it is a bummer to see all the Halloween decorations get taken down, and the Christmas ones go up in their place.

I always feel bad for Veterans Day and Thanksgiving because they seem to get lost in the shuffle.  Halloween and Christmas are titanic holidays in Maine, and those two November days are tiny icebergs with no chance in Hell of sinking them.

We celebrated All Saints Day yesterday, and I dressed up as St. Augustine, my patron saint, and handed out rosary beads and prayer cards to the kiddos who came saint or sinnering at The House on the Hill.

Back in my day, and I know I’m making myself sound old with such a comment, I remember everyone dressed up as a Saint on All Saints Day to go saint or sinnering.  Now, however, more and more kids dress up as sinners.  I couldn’t even count the number of Donald Trumps, Kardashians, and Tom Bradys that showed up on my porch looking for prayer cards and rosary beads.  There were just too many.

Sigh.  What has this world become?

MondayPlus, it’s Monday.

Of course, the biggest holiday of all got lost in the shuffle with Halloween, All Saints Day, and National Time Travel Day aka Set Back The Clocks Day.

Yesterday was the blog’s third Birthday!

Happy Birthday, The Return of the Modern Philosopher!

I have written at least one post every day of those three years, Modern Philosophers, which means my blogging iron man streak is almost at 1,100 straight days.

That’s definitely a reason to put on my formal toga and go out on the town to celebrate, right?  I must admit, I’m quite proud of the little blog that could.

Anyone want to join me in the festivities?

The intern with the uneven ears is signalling to me that I need to wrap up this post and get ready for work.  Just when I was finally starting to feel positive about today.

There’s coffee and leftover Halloween candy in the kitchen.  Enjoy.  Remember, there’s only seventeen hours left of this day, so do your best to hide from it and just survive…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/2/15

  1. grannyK says:

    Congrats on the 3rd birthday!

  2. Pingback: Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/2/15 | avpp2610

  3. jan says:

    Golly moses – my toga is at the dry cleaners! I’ll have to virtually celebrate your bloggy birthday!

  4. GP Cox says:

    Happy Birthday for being 3 years old. I see by the coffee you made – you knew I was coming by!

Leave a Reply

