Friday Night Think Tank: Dark Days Ahead

Doc BrownIt’s Friday night, Modern Philosophers.

Of course, with the time change, it’s felt like nighttime since about 3:00.  If only the workday ended when the sun vanished.

There’s plenty of light out in the Think Tank, so why don’t we head out there now for our weekly illuminating Philosophical exercise?

It’s been a long week, it’s late, and I’m tired.  So let’s cut short the chit chat and get down to work, shall we?

Sorry, but this lack of sunlight is making me grumpy!

This week’s topic: What effect has the time change had on your life?  Are you a fan?  How do you deal with the darkness (both literal and figurative)?

pitchblackPut me down as not being a fan of the switch back to Standard Time, Modern Philosophers.

I do not like feeling as if I am trapped in Vin Diesel’s sci-fi adventure, “Pitch Black”.

It’s already pitch black when I leave work at night, and that’s depressing.  I miss being able to sit outside and write when I get home.

That total darkness certainly doesn’t help when the temperatures plummet and the snow arrives.

Ah, how I hate driving home in the snow in absolute darkness.

Sure, it’s nice that the sun is up now when I go on my morning run, but I’d much rather trade darkness in the morning for sunlight at night.

It’s supposed to be dark when I wake up.  That’s just natural.  Stepping out into a world that looks like the middle of the night when I leave work is not.

People suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder for a reason.  Take away their sunlight, and you take away their will to smile and think happy thoughts.

I don’t get why we have to turn back the clocks.  I know the days are getting shorter because of the change in the seasons, and Earth’s position with regards to the sun, but why not try to prolong the hours we spend in the sun’s warm, bright glow?

candy crushIt’s as if we want Winter to be gloomy and depressing.  Like we want Snow Miser to feel like he wins.

We should be going out of our way to make Winter warmer, brighter, and less soul sucking.

Right now, I feel like the darkness is crushing me, and I just want the sun to come back and keep me company.

It’s only just begun, too.  We still have another month and a half until the shortest day of the year.  I’m not looking forward to more of this darkness.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Dark Days Ahead

  1. Whereas here in New Zealand we have precisely the opposite problem… ☺

  2. ksbeth says:

    i still wake up at 5, but my day seems to end much earlier somehow )

  3. Pamela says:

    I already miss those long sunny days ! 😎

  4. Just to state the obvious, if we just never put the clocks ahead in spring (the one I REALLY hate), you wouldn’t have this problem, because the early darkness would happen more gradually. The time change is ridiculous. However, as one sister said, time is relative. Not our relative.

Leave a Reply

