Chili, Notre Dame, and Star Wars: Living The American Dream

American flagIt’s been an interesting Saturday at The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers.

I went for my usual morning run, and was delighted to find that it was almost 60 degrees.  Aside from a strong wind over the last half mile, it felt like a Spring day.

Not your typical November day.

I walked to the library and was delighted to find the new book from one of my favorite authors waiting for me on the shelf.  Nice.

I started the laundry, changed the litter boxes, and did some serious cleaning to the downstairs level of this massive house.

Of course, I might have also caused an international incident by fighting with the Sweet Irish Girl, but it looks like peace has been restored, and Irish/American relations are as great as they’ve always been.

Once my diplomatic mission was completed, I got down to the serious business of the day:

Making chili!

So The House on the Hill is cleaner than usual, it smells like chili, and I’m watching Notre Dame, the #5 team in the nation, play Pitt.

And there are photos…

chili 1The last batch of chili I made was the best ever.  So, I did my best to duplicate that recipe.

Of course, I always just make it up as I go along, so I didn’t write down what went into that last pot.  I did remember, however, that I added baked beans, mushrooms, pepperoni, and onion so those items were all on hand today.

chili 2Today’s concoction simmering on the stove.  It smells good and tastes delicious.  I will leave it on the stove all day to let the flavor really seep in.

chili 3Of course, just because the chili is still cooking doesn’t mean that some of it can’t be used to make chili cheese fries for lunch!

It was the perfect football food, and, yes, I ate it all.

chili 4Now I’m just relaxing on the couch, with Cali curled up next to me, watching Notre Dame manhandle Pitt.

While the score was 14-3 at the time this photo was taken, it is now 21-3.

Go Irish!

Yes, I clearly have a soft spot for all things Irish.

chili 5I’m wearing my Star Wars shirt and Notre Dame hat for luck.

The Force is strong with Notre Dame, as is the Luck of the Irish.

Chili, football, Star Wars, and a Sweet Irish Girl never far from my thoughts.  This Modern Philosopher is certainly living the American Dream.

Hope you are all having a wonderful Saturday!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chili, Notre Dame, and Star Wars: Living The American Dream

  1. jan says:

    Mushrooms in your chili? I’ve never done that but it sounds yummy!

  2. I do not like chili. There, I’ve said it. I recently offended another blogger by not liking Cheetos, but we’re not talking about me. Pepperoni is certainly an inspired choice of ingredient. It was the secret ingredient of my Grandmother’s spaghetti sauce (not a very well-kept secret). Glad you’re having a good day. Rock on.

  3. Ocean Bream says:

    Your chilli sounds and looks really delicious. Also never heard of chilli fries. That sounds like something I would like to munch! Glad your Saturday is going well! May the force be with you, Austin.

  4. The Hook says:

    It’s been a helluva day so far!
    Bridezillas, Bug Pussy from The Sopranos and the usual nuttiness.

  5. The Cutter says:

    I was rooting for Temple last week, but since they couldn’t get it done, guess I hope ND does well the rest of the year

  6. Glenda says:

    I am going to voice an unpopular opinion here about the chili, but,yuck! ewwww! Mushrooms? Baked beans? Christ almighty! Having said that, I am definitely intrigued by the addition of pepperoni. LOL! I am including this link: http://shop.asskickin.com/Ass-Kickin-Chili-Fixins-AK706.htm in hopes that you’ll be able to save your immortal soul after that blasphemy! <:-D In all honesty, it does look like a great stew.

Leave a Reply

