My Top 5 Numbers Between 1 And 6

numbersIt’s Sunday, Modern Philosophers, and Weekend WordPress is usually pretty boring with very little traffic.  Because of this, I like to experiment with features that aren’t in the regular blog rotation.

The My Top 5 lists were supposed to become a regular thing, but then I got distracted after remembering how much I hated to make lists.

The interns have been bugging me to bring it back, though, so to keep those punks happy and working for free, I’ve decided to write another My Top 5 post.

This week’s topic is one that’s very close to my Math Nerd heart: My Top 5 Numbers Between 1 and 6…

6The top spot on my list is a no brainer, Modern Philosophers.

I was born on the sixth and have always thoughts of 6 as my lucky number, as well as my favorite from an infinite choice of numbers.

I was raised by an Evil Stepmother, who was also extremely frugal.  She led me to believe that 6 was just as lucky as 7, only cheaper.

2Ironic that 2 takes the #2 spot on the list, right?

I’ve always been a fan of 2 because it represents a couple, a pair, and therefore, love.

It is also the number of beloved former Yankees captain Derek Jeter.

Finally, my inner immature boy will always snicker and giggle at the mere mention or thought of #2.

5Who doesn’t love to count by five?

A $5 bill was the usual gift I’d find inside birthday cards mailed to me by relatives I rarely ever saw, but who wanted me to enjoy my special day.

The number is also associated with great deals: $5 foot long, $5 value meal, and the $5 colonoscopy.

3I like 3 because I think of it as a Zombie 8.  The 8 has had a couple of body parts fall off because it’s a Zombie and its body is rotting away.

The 3 could infect the entire number line and turn any Math problem into a horror movie.  How cool is that?

Cool enough to earn a spot in My Top 5!

44 essentially makes the list by default, Modern Philosophers.

I really despise the number 1, so that allows 4 to claim the fifth and final spot.

Why do I hate 1?  I associate it with perfection, the top of the class, the best one (pun intended) can be.  That all reminds me too much of my horrible childhood where my Evil Stepmother pushed me to be perfect, demanded I be at the top of my class, and would belittle me for getting a 99 on a test.

I don’t want to be #1.  I just want to be Austin.

1 is also the loneliest number.  It makes me think about how much I hate being single, and all the times I was a 2, but had my heart broken and bacame a 1 again.

Honorable Mention: none.

What did you think of My Top 5?  How different is your list from mine?  Will anyone even read this post given that it’s the weekend?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Top 5 Numbers Between 1 And 6

  1. qwietpleez says:

    Mine are 7, 3, and 5 . . . in that order, Not particular reasons why, none that I’ve ever truly stopped to consider. I likely will now though. I’ve simply always been drawn to them. I may have to incorporate your reasoning for 3, brilliant 🙂

  2. Joseph Nebus says:

    No room for three and three-quarters? It’s a fair bit larger than three, but not so exacting and demanding as four.

  3. donedreaming says:

    One. One always needs to be put first, be kind and gentle with it because it’s not easy being one. It stands there all alone looking after itself, being brave even when it’s bottom lip wobbles. And when one becomes two it needs to remember it still comes first and doesn’t lose itself in the crowd. It’s also the exciting bit just before lift off (Thunderbirds are go!).

  4. Josh Wrenn says:

    2 is my number 1. Born on the second, live the idea of 2 as opposed to 1 in the same sense you dislike 1…it’s always been my favorite. Then 7. After that I’d have to give it more thought than my weekend brain is up for. And hooray for the football stats drop!

  5. Glenda says:

    $5 colonoscopy?! LMBO! That’s after eating those $5 specials, right? And you’re not the only one who despises the number #1 (girls titter on this number). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5ab8BOu4LE

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

