Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/9/15

Giant mugThe inevitable has happened, Modern Philosophers, and Monday has come up on our calendars yet again.

I know this is only supposed to happen once every seven days, but it just seems like it’s Monday a lot more than usual lately.

Perhaps it’s the change in seasons, the turning back of the clocks, or the mysterious disappearance of Thursday, which the authorities are desperately trying to keep out of the headlines.

Whatever it is, I feel like I’ve been in a constant Monday state of mind for longer than I wish to remember.

Veterans Day is this week, and that should be a nice break from the regular routine.  I’m a big fan of veterans, and will fly the American flag proudly from the front porch of The House on the Hill to celebrate their sacrifice and service to this country.

My Dad served in the Marines during World War II, and I’ve known many people through the years who have put on a uniform to protect the United States.  One doesn’t need to know a veteran to appreciate what they’ve done, but it does seem to make the day a little more personal for me.

Of course, the big news is that if I can manage to survive this work week, my reward will be getting to spend nine days with the Sweet Irish Girl.

irishYes, Modern Philosophers, the gorgeous lass with a firm grasp on my heart is coming to The House on the Hill for a visit.

Big green, beautiful Irish eyes will be smiling upon me, and I’m excited and anxious and nervous and a vast rainbow of other emotions that I can’t quite put into words right now.

I’ve had the blog interns scrubbing The House on the Hill from top to bottom, and I’ve made it clear to all the Otherworldly Beings who come in and out of this place at will that they need to be on their best behavior while the Sweet Irish Girl is here.

As you might expect, Seamus is out of his mind that someone else from the Emerald Isle will be under this roof.  I’m sure he intends to pepper her with questions about his homeland, but he needs to understand that she is visiting Maine to get away from annoying Leprechauns for a few days.

I fully intend to get to the bottom of my special guest’s name while she is here.  It just seems like a very bold move by her parents.  Sure, they knew she was Irish and a girl, but how could they be so sure she’d grow up to be sweet?

Were they time travelers?  Irish Witches?  Or just lucky guessers?

If I seem at all distracted, or not as prolific in my writing over the next couple of weeks, you now know the reason.  Getting to the bottom of that name mystery is just going to keep me very occupied for a while…

Happy Monday.  Top o’ the morning to ya.  Erin Go Bragh!  Enjoy the coffee.  I’ve put out some Baileys Irish Cream in case you want to give your java a kick…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/9/15

  1. grannyK says:

    How exciting! Hopefully, the week will fly by for you.

  2. ksbeth says:

    i love me some bailey’s! the week will speed by, mark my words –

Leave a Reply

