Friday Night Think Tank: A Nightmare on Friday the 13th

jasonHappy Friday the 13th, Modern Philosophers!

Hope none of you had a surprise visit from Jason Voorhees today.  He tends to get a bit…oh what’s the word…homicidal when the thirteenth of the month falls on a Friday.

Some say it’s Mommy issues, others say it’s because he had a really bad experience at Summer Camp.

All I know is that I steer clear of the big guy on the particular day.

Guess what, Modern Philosophers?  As I write the post, the Sweet Irish Girl is sitting next to me, making goo goo eyes at this dorky writer, and causing my heart to beat a thousand times faster than it does when I run.

I’m not going to tell you what she’s watching on her phone right now, but I will say she is the most beautiful creature I’ve seen in the longest time.

We agreed that I had to keep up my blogging, so we’re going to take a quick trip out to the Think Tank for our weekly Philosophical Exercise.

Who’s with me?  Don’t worry…I had the interns sweep the area for any sign of that misunderstood, machete wielding lad in the hockey mask.

The intern with the lazy eye and the fake limp hasn’t come back yet, but I’m going to write that off to Darwinism at its finest.

This week’s topic: It’s Friday the 13th.  Were Jason’s adventures at Camp Crystal Lake your go to horror flicks, or did you prefer one of the other series?

Jason VThis is a hard one for me to answer, Modern Philosophers, because I love horror movies and I think I saw every one that came out when I was young.

They didn’t really scare me.  It was fun to go with my buddies, pretend that we could kick the butt of that flick’s boogie man, and then go for pizza afterwards to rehash every grisly murder while commenting on how we would have done it differently.

The Friday the 13th movies were very cool, but not my faves.

My next favorite horror movie series definitely gave me nightmares, which means that they were doing something right.

FreddyA Nightmare on Elm Street was such an awesome idea.  The monster attacks his victims in their sleep, and if they die in their dreams, they die in real life.

Yes!  As a teen who wanted to grow up to write movies, this made me realize that all my crazy, scary ideas had potential.

How could you not love Freddy Krueger?  Sure, he was the big bad, a serial killer, and deformed madman, but he was also kind of cool, right?

He had a wild sense of humor, was incredibly creative in his murders, and he popped off the best one liners.

Freddy was the man of my dreams, and not in a good way.

His films might have made New Line Cinema a powerhouse, but they still don’t top my list.

MikeyHalloween is my favorite holiday, and it’s also one of my all-time top horror movie franchises.  Trick or treat, baby!

Michael Myers is a creepy, bad ass killer with a backstory that is so much more believable than Jason’s or Freddy’s.

He committed his first murder while dressed as a clown.  No wonder those damn, red nosed weirdos freak me the hell out!

Jamie Lee Curtis added some class, and a recurring character that we could root for and bond with against our foe.

Who doesn’t enjoy a little homicidal sibling rivalry?

ScreamThe horror franchise that haunts my house the hardest, though, is Scream.

LOVE those flicks.  I remember actually not wanting to see the first one because it was so popular, and I didn’t want to be another sheep following the masses to the cinema just because Ghostface was hip and cool.

After I finally gave in and saw it, however, I was hooked!  I read all I could find about Kevin Williamson, the movie, and its wonderful twist ending.

Two killers?  Hell yeah!

Scream really got me back into writing horror scripts.

The movie heavily influenced Close To Me, the screenplay that got me discovered in Hollywood.  I can actually remember being bored at work one day and passing the time by writing a scene about a prank phone call gone very wrong.

That scene ended up growing into Close To Me, and my Hollywood career was officially off when I received a very large check for the option on the screenplay.

I owe Scream for the inspiration, but I also owe Friday the 13th, A Nightmare on Elm Street, and Halloween for driving me down that dark, frightening, thrilling path.

Sorry this post is all over the place, Modern Philosophers, but it is Friday the 13th after all.  Every little sound is making me jump.

Then there’s this gorgeous Irish girl who wants my attention…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: A Nightmare on Friday the 13th

  1. floridaborne says:

    Don’t make her wait!

  2. markbialczak says:

    I wasn’t much for the horror genre, Austin. But I can say the movie that I recall scaring me the most with its violence when I was a kid was Straw Dogs, starring Dustin Hoffman. I believe Sam Peckinpaugh directed. I recall asking my dad why he took me with him to see it when we were driving home and I finally stopped shaking in my shoes.

Leave a Reply

