An Early, Extremely Happy Thanksgiving

Irish-BlessingThanksgiving is usually a quiet time at The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers.

Sure there are always Otherworldly Beings roaming around the place, but they don’t really understand the holiday.  They just think it’s an excuse to eat and drink (Yes, Seamus, that was directed at you!), and I must confess, I miss having some human interaction.

So I was truly touched when The Sweet Irish Girl asked if we could celebrate Thanksgiving together during her visit.  Now do you understand why I think she’s so sweet?

While most of you are probably choosing to be more traditional and waiting until next Thursday for Thanksgiving, The House on the Hill hosted a delicious and romantic Thanksgiving feast last night.

I’m still smiling from out First (Early) Thanksgiving.  Here are some photos from the historic event…

Thanksgiving 10Because of the language differences, there was some confusion as to why I’d want biscuits with Thanksgiving dinner.

Now The Sweet Irish Girl understands the difference between American and Irish biscuits aka cookies.

Thanksgiving 9It’s not Thanksgiving without apple pie.  I impressed my dinner date by baking a pie, and then putting it in this cool box to keep it warm.  Yum!

Thanksgiving 8We made a special trip up to Hannaford to get the ingredients for our Thanksgiving feast.

I know that you guys are pretty set on celebrating the holiday on the same day as everyone else, but there’s a huge selection of goods, and hardly any lines when you hold your Thanksgiving a week early.

Just something to form Deep Thoughts about, Modern Philosophers.

Thanksgiving 7I know this seems like a stereotype, but putting the Irish native in charge of peeling the potatoes just made sense.

Confession time: we had to buy a potato peeler because there was not one on hand in The House on the Hill’s kitchen.  One of the interns probably stole the previous one.

Thanksgiving 6Yes, I did help prepare the potatoes!  Once they were peeled, my job was to cut them.

Not to brag, but I didn’t cut myself and/or draw blood even once!

Thanksgiving 5It wouldn’t be a holiday at The House on the Hill without pepperoni and cheese.  This appetizer is a longstanding tradition handed down by my Dad.

I always miss him on Thanksgiving, so serving up what he thought of as “fancy food” made it feel like he was there in spirit.

And it gave me an excuse to tell The Sweet Irish Girl more tales of Dear Old Dad, who I’m sure would have loved my beautiful dinner date.

Thanksgiving 4The Sweet Irish Girl putting the finishing touches on her garlic potatoes, a special family recipe first introduced to her clan by a Leprechaun with a love of cheese.

I really liked that she shared a family tradition at our first holiday together.

Thanksgiving 3The garlic potatoes are ready for the oven.  They were so good!

Thanksgiving 2Our first Thanksgiving Feast together is served!  I’m getting full just looking at this photo.

Thanksgiving 1Before we ate, The Sweet Irish Girl asked me for what I was thankful.

Come on, Sweetheart, isn’t the answer obvious?

Happy Thanksgiving, Modern Philosophers!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to An Early, Extremely Happy Thanksgiving

  1. D. Parker says:

    Happy (Early) Thanksgiving – giving thanks works on any day. 🙂

  2. I note a little Irish lilt to your voice! My mother was full Irish — nothing better. Top o’ Thanksgiving to you!

  3. nolanwrites says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! The food looks amazing!!

    • Austin says:

      Thanks, Nolan! I know you don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Ireland, but maybe you should think about trying it. Tell me…is The Sweet Irish Girl lying when she says the Garlic Potatoes are a family recipe? Is that a common dish in Ireland? I just want to know if The Sweet Irish Girl is having the craic with me. 🙂

  4. floridaborne says:

    We’re happy that you’re happy and we wish you the best of times!

  5. jacobemet says:

    I really hope your blog doesn’t suck after she leaves, Austin.
    And Happy Thanksgiving, mate.

  6. Ocean Bream says:

    This is so lovely. She sounds like an absolute sweetheart, and your feast looked marvellous! Happy thanksgiving! We don’t celebrate that here in England but looking at yours sure makes us feel jealous we only have one feast this winter and not two! :p

  7. The Cutter says:

    Happy thanksgiving to you as well

  8. Happy Thanksgiving! Sounds like you are so crazily in ❤❤❤. 😊😊😊

  9. I don’t see any problem with celebrating a holiday on whatever day you choose, but I’m still trying to bend my mind around something you said in the second paragraph… you mean Thanksgiving is NOT just an excuse to eat and drink a lot? Damn! So I’m looking at the picture of garlic potatoes (garlic… mmmmmm)… I see cheese, I’m guessing there’s also milk and butter, like baked macaroni and cheese… Some version of this may be in my future. Happy Thanksgiving, past and future.

  10. ksbeth says:

    i’m so happy for your early thanksgiving that you could share with someone special. i knew it would happen for you all along )

  11. Cheesy potatoes… yum. That is all. Happy Thanksgiving! Oh. And I love that you put the pie in a box to keep it warm. 😉

Leave a Reply

