I Am Not Thankful For The First Snow!

snow 6As Thanksgiving approaches, Modern Philosophers, I try to get into the proper mindset by forming Deep Thoughts on that for which I am thankful.

Clearly, I am thankful that Love has found its way back to The House on the Hill after an extremely long and unfortunate absence.

I am thankful for Cali and Luna, my sweet kitties.  I’m thankful for the roof over my head and the Gargoyle that sits on that roof and keeps me safe.

I’m thankful for all you friendly, kindhearted Modern Philosophers, who make me feel like I have a lovely internet family…well, more like a bunch of crazy cousins who I never see, but talk to all the time.

What I am not thankful for, and the Pilgrims can roll over in their graves if they must, is the first snow, which arrived this morning.

Hate the stuff, regardless of how postcard-esque it might look to you.

All it means is that Snow Miser has arrived and brought Winter along with him.  You all know how much I dislike Snow Miser, and there’s absolutely no way I’m inviting the dude to The House on the Hill for Thanksgiving.

No turkey for you!

No turkey for you!

He’s just too much!

I know you love photos of the Maine snow, so be thankful that my camera crew was on hand to capture these shots of the first snow of the season…

snow 2snow 3These two were taken from the front porch of The House on the Hill when I first woke up this morning.  I was still in my pajamas, and ran outside because I could not believe my eyes.  My life is like Groundhog Day, only with snow.

I swore I could hear Snow Miser laughing with delight in the distance…

snow 4It’s just so weird because I looked at the weather report yesterday with The Sweet Irish Girl before we headed to the airport, and I distinctly remember mentioning that there was no snow in the forecast.

Obviously, Snow Miser knew I’d be feeling low because my Sweetheart had returned to Ireland, so he brought in the snow to kick me while I was down.

Jerk!

snow 5It didn’t end up being that much to shovel, but it was the whole idea of it that bothered me.

Mondays are bad enough, but when you add snow to my sadness and then multiply that by having to return to work, you have a most horrible equation.

snow 7Guess it was a good thing I bought new boots and a snow shovel last week.  It’s as if my Snow Miser sense was tingling, and I knew trouble was on the way.

snow 8I’m also a little bummed I didn’t get to frolic in the snow with The Sweet Irish Girl.  That would’ve been fun.

snow 9I wasn’t thrilled to return to work after a romantic and exciting vacation, but at least the view from the parking lot was nice…

snow 10snow 11snow 12It was bad enough waking up alone this morning, but it was even worse when I realized that Snow Miser was near and desperately wanted to spoon me.

I am thankful that Thanksgiving is this week, but I am not at all thankful for the arrival of the first snow.

If only we could stuff Snow Miser and drown him in gravy…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Am Not Thankful For The First Snow!

  1. idiotprufs says:

    You have to drown Snow Miser first, then you can stuff him.

  2. Gail Kaufman says:

    My my. Are you gonna whine all winter? 🙂

  3. adamjasonp says:

    Didn’t get snow in my neck— just frost. Weird…

  4. donedreaming says:

    Sorry Awesome but it looks so pretty! We just get grey slush …

  5. I’m soooooo with you. I always think of that guy who blowtorched the snow off his car and when the cops asked what he was doing, he said he was sick of dealing with tons of white bullshit. That guy could be me.
    We had our first snow in my part of CO last Monday evening – seven inches. Winter certainly didn’t sneak in this year.

  6. Jay says:

    We woke up to snow here too this morning and it made for a miserable, slippy drive in. Can we send it back?

Leave a Reply

