Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/23/15

Giant mugI expected today to be a difficult one, Modern Philosophers.

Not only was it Monday, but it was also my first day back to work after a delightful vacation.  Blah!

Most importantly, it was my first day waking up alone in The House in the Hill after nine days of waking up to find The Sweet Irish Girl smiling at me.  Sad face.

This morning, I woke up to something completely different and unexpected.

It was a sound.

A familiar sound, but one I assumed had to be a part of my nightmares.

There was no other explanation for it, and I’d been having some very creepy dreams lately.

As I opened my eyes to pitch blackness since it was still the middle of the night, I thought to myself how the noise that had awakened me sounded eerily like the City Snow Plow clearing my street.

How could that be, though?  It wasn’t supposed to snow.

That was when I shot out of bed and ran to the window.

I normally don’t move that quickly at such an early hour, but I had to confirm that I had misheard and there was nothing horrible awaiting me outside.

To my utter horror, this is what I found…

snow 1

 

Are you @#$%^&* kidding me???

Is that @#$%^&* snow out there?

Holy $%^&.  I cannot believe this!  Happy @#$%^&* Monday!!!

Clearly, my old nemesis Snow Miser saw a chance to catch me when I was vulnerable, and he decided to shove his snow boot into my throat and push down with all his might.

Now, I’m sad because The Sweet Irish Girl is gone, cranky because it’s Monday, grumbly because my vacation is over, and stressed because I have to drive in the snow.

Well played Monday and Snow Miser.

Well played.

I guess the silver lining in all this is that on Thanksgiving, I’ll be able to say I’m thankful I survived the Monday from Hell.  What a way to start the week, Modern Philosophers.

Hope your Monday is off to a better start.  Enjoy the coffee.  Only seventeen hours until it’s all over…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/23/15

  1. No snow here on the ocean, just rain. Hopefully your temp is already over 32, and it’ll melt very quickly.

  2. grannyK says:

    Winter rears its ugly head. I get mixed feelings. We NEED that snow, but why can’t it stay off the streets? Is that really asking too much? I do hope you have a decent Monday.

  3. Well, that’s plenty reason to just hide in bed all day. Snow and a Monday?! TWO obstacles too many.

  4. Josh Wrenn says:

    I’m sorry your sweet Irish girl is gone. Snow is not fun when you have things to do, but if you do not, do your best to make the most of it. Do you run in the snow? Is it too icy?

  5. The Cutter says:

    Doesn’t look like that much snow. Maybe it’s just a warning shot?

  6. It looks like something right out of Christmas Story.

Leave a Reply

