It’s 13 Degrees…Let’s Go For A Run!

cold 1Happy Thanksgiving Eve, Modern Philosophers!

I have a confession to make.  I might have possibly slacked off on my running a little while The Sweet Irish Girl was here.

I only went for one run during her visit, but I really felt that spending as much time as possible with her was my top priority.

Besides, after nineteen weeks of running, it was time to give my body a rest.  Plus, we went for a walk almost every day, so I still got some exercise.

So I was ready to get back into the swing of things this week now that my Sweetheart has returned to the Emerald Isle and I need something to distract me.

I’m very glad that while I didn’t run last week, I did take the time to make some running related purchases.  That mask and the running jacket I’m wearing in these photos have come in quite handy this week.

Yesterday, it was 19 degrees when I left for my run.

Brrrr!

This morning, on Thanksgiving Eve aka The Feast of the Big Sandwich, it was a balmy 13 degrees.  That is not a misprint, Modern Philosophers.

Thirteen degrees.

Please help me!!!

Please help me!!!

If I’m serious about keeping up my Running Program this Winter, I need to be able to hit the road when Snow Miser is giving me his worst.

This morning was the first time I had to bust out the long legged spandex under my running toga, and I think the spandex shorts might be put into storage until about April.

Despite the absolutely frigid temps, I managed to work up a good sweat fairly quickly.  The new running jacket definitely kept me warm, and the mask not only made me look like I was on the way to rob a bank, but it also kept my handsome face safe and cozy.

I am thankful that someone invented heat!

I am thankful that someone invented heat!

This Thanksgiving, I am definitely thankful that I have a roof over my head and the ability to crank up the heat after I do something stupid like run when it’s 13 degrees.

I’m thankful that after taking a week off from running, I could still crank out 3 miles like it was a walk around the block.  In fact, today’s run was two minutes faster than yesterday’s.

Perhaps the large drop in the mercury inspired me to move faster.

I’m thankful that I continue to have the motivation and desire to run, and that my old legs are still willing to support me in this ridiculous endeavor.

Most importantly, I’m thankful that I made it back to The House on the Hill alive this morning.  What was I thinking???

Happy Thanksgiving Eve, Modern Philosophers.  Go fetch yourself a big sandwich!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s 13 Degrees…Let’s Go For A Run!

  1. I’m thankful for fellow bloggers like you that keep me inspired – to write and get out of my chair. Have a great Thanksgiving! Now where did I put that potato bread I picked up in York?

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    You are terribly inspiring, Austin. I am finding it hard to get out of bed let alone go running outside in the freezing cold! Once you get into it though, do you find you warm up pretty quickly? I cycle about 22 miles once a week and I find by the end of it I have to take my jacket off and cycle with nothing but my T shirt! In the cold! That’s a consolation, if any, to be honest.

  3. Pingback: I try to keep my sadness hid | Beyond the Crucible

Leave a Reply

