Just Be Thankful You’re Not A Turkey

TurkeysHappy Thanksgiving, Modern Philosophers!

I’m sure most of you will be too busy celebrating the holiday to spend time in the blog world, but I still wanted to have a happy, Deep Thought provoking post waiting for you.

The Boy Scout in me is always prepared!

I already had my big Thanksgiving feast last Thursday during The Sweet Irish Girl’s visit, but I still plan to carry on a few Thanksgiving traditions today.

For one, I didn’t go to work.  That’s perhaps the most important of all the Thanksgiving traditions, Modern Philosophers!

I’ll also be enjoying pepperoni and cheese a little later.  Dad always served that appetizer on holidays, and it’s a tradition I definitely enjoy keeping alive.

Thanksgiving 5There will definitely be stuffing and a lot of gravy.  Even though I’m not making turkey today, I was totally craving stuffing.  Looking forward to that!

I will be watching football, and am very thankful that the Jets will not be embarrassing me on national television this Thanksgiving.

There will also be pumpkin pie served for dessert.  It’s not Thanksgiving without pie!

T Day runAs for new traditions, I went for a Thanksgiving run this morning.  Not surprisingly, I was the only turkey out on the road, but that was fine with me.

It was 37 degrees when I left The House on the Hill, making the temperature almost three times what it was for yesterday’s run when it was only 13!

I then spent some time in the basement trying to board up and cover the windows in the back room where the water pipers are.  I’m hoping that by adding that extra bit of insulation, I will prevent frozen pipes this Winter.  Fingers crossed on that one.

I will also enjoy a new tradition of drinking wine spritzers on Thanksgiving.  The Sweet Irish Girl left a bottle of wine behind, and I promised her I would have some today to celebrate.  While she was here, she got me hooked on her little spritzer concoction, and I think a few of those will help this lonely day pass quickly.

heros 3heros 5Of course, I am extremely thankful today that Love has found its way back to The House on the Hill.  While The Sweet Irish Girl might currently be spending her day in a country that doesn’t acknowledge Thanksgiving, she has been in my thoughts and heart all day, while also literally being on my phone nonstop.

She clearly misses me because she has been sending me videos all day of the silliest, cutest things.  I clearly miss her because I allowed her to wake me up with a phone call at the butt crack of dawn.

Isn’t love grand?

Happy TI think it’s about time to pop the cork on that bottle of wine, and start cutting up the pepperoni and cheese.

I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving, even if you live somewhere that doesn’t celebrate the holiday.  I hereby make you an honorary American, so you can join in the fun!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Be Thankful You’re Not A Turkey

  1. jan says:

    I drink wine spritzers as well. Happy T-day!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Austin 🙂

  3. adamjasonp says:

    Mmm…pepperoni and cheese.

Leave a Reply

