Friday Night Think Tank: Embracing The Season

Doc BrownIt’s Black Friday night, Modern Philosophers.  Hopefully, you all made it home safely from your shopping excursions.

I went to work an hour early because I fell dreadfully behind while I was on vacation.  It doesn’t seem fair that taking a week off to relax should lead to being totally stressed out upon returning to work.

Shouldn’t the vacation elves have done all my work while I was away?

Even though I had a long, horrible day at work, I now feel relaxed and refreshed.  I called The Sweet Irish Girl and allowed the sound of her voice to calm me and remind me that life can be rather grand.

Then I had dinner and now I’m ready to head out to the Think Tank for our weekly Philosophical Exercise.

And because it is Black Friday, all Deep Thoughts are 70% off.  How could you possibly pass on a deal like that?

Grab your shopping bags and meet me out in the Think Tank…

This week’s topic: Now that Thanksgiving is over and Black Friday is here, many say it is the official start of the Christmas Season.  Do you feel like you have embraced the Holiday Spirit, or are you still digesting Thanksgiving Dinner?

Christmas tree 2There’s no way I’m ready for Christmas yet, Modern Philosophers.

I’m Old School when it comes to a clear separation of Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I do not believe that the Holidays should simply bleed into each other.

I need time to digest Thanksgiving, go back to a regular routine for a while, and then slowly allow Christmas to creep up on me.

I want to watch a Christmas special here, listen to a Christmas Carol there, and allow the Christmas Contagion to infect my body quietly and gently.

I don’t like having Christmas thrust in my face, nor do I enjoy having people tell me I need to be in the Christmas Spirit.  I can’t just flip a switch and go full Happy Birthday, Jesus at the drop of a Santa Claus hat.

Bah Humbug!

Truth be told, Christmas has lost its luster for me over the past few years, to the point that I don’t even put up a tree anymore.  However, I still get into the spirit of things maybe two weeks to ten days before the big day, but it’s not the same feeling it used to be.

SantaWho know?  Maybe having someone special in my life again will change all that.  Regardless, I still don’t put on my Christmas Toga and deck the halls the second the clock chimes midnight on Black Friday.

Christmas has always been about the slow build up, and I like it to happen naturally.  Artificial Christmas Spirit simply doesn’t work for me.

So what about you, Modern Philosophers?  Are you filled with the Christmas Spirit yet?  Or are you still filled with turkey, stuffing, and pumpkin pie from Thanksgiving Dinner?

I’ll be reading your replies, and checking them twice, so try really hard not to be naughty, but nice…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Embracing The Season

  1. I like to wait to just a few days before the 24th and then celebrate until the tree becomes a fire hazard…

  2. grannyK says:

    I’m such a cranky old butt that it takes a good share of the month for the Christmas spirit to take hold. By the time it does, it’s almost too late!

  3. There have been years when I could barely restrain my husband from watching Christmas movies before Halloween. Luckily his love of Halloween allowed me to put off Christmas season till Nov. 1. Personally I prefer to enjoy the gloom of November without worrying about the bright lights and happy feelings that are supposed to be ubiquitous but often elude me (happy feelings elude me; bright lights I see everywhere). However, Christmas celebrated the way I like to celebrate it does require some forethought, and I do love, Love, LOVE the season. I guess I’m saying my feelings are complicated. I must expend more deep thoughts on the subject.

  4. adamjasonp says:

    Not ready— no, I am not, not I; the year went by so fast, just not in the blink of an eye.

Leave a Reply

