My Girlfriend’s Obsession With The Late Late Toy Show

late lateOne of the grand and lovely things about having a Sweet Irish Girlfriend is learning about her customs and traditions.

For example, it is customary for her to say things in a very odd manner and then expect this dorky American guy to understand what she means.  This morning, it was an entire conversation about porridge that left me asking “What’s the craic?”.

It turns out she was just suggesting I eat some oatmeal after my run.

Moments ago, I received a text from Ireland strongly suggesting that I write a blog post about The Late Late Toy Show.

I have no idea what that is except for the fact that The Sweet Irish Girl was obsessing over it all day yesterday, sending me shots of her TV showing the program, and giving me a play by play via text about what was happening on a show I’d never heard of before yesterday.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a girlfriend, but I do remember that one of the rules is I’m supposed to do anything I can to make her happy.  As a result, this is my blog post about her (unhealthy) obsession with The Late Late Toy Show.

Late late 3What I’ve managed to gather via texts from the Emerald Isle and from having the interns research the interwebs, is that The Late Late Toy Show is an annual Christmas Special that airs on Irish TV right after Thanksgiving.

Not that they celebrate Thanksgiving, but I’m writing this post in America, so I’m going to use American holidays in the article!

Arbor Day.  Flag Day.  Independence Day.

You see?  I was totally serious about that.

It appears to be a special edition of a late night talk show called, surprisingly enough, The Late Late Show.  This year’s show was hosted by someone named Ryan Tubridy, who may or may not be the man in the photos I’m using.

late late 2According to The Sweet Irish Girl, whose texts are devoid of punctuation because she’s just so darn excited telling me about the show, The Late Late Toy Show has aired for about 40 years and highlights all the big toys that the Irish lads and lasses want for Christmas.

There’s also entertainment.  The kiddos appear in costume to talk about the toys, and then there is singing and dancing.  My Sweetheart excitedly texted about a culchie farmer boy who rapped a little Eminem for the crowd.

The host wears a hideous Christmas jumper (that’s Irish for sweater) and from the clips I watched on YouTube, the audience comes in costume for reasons I don’t understand.  Must be a charming Irish thing.

Why are they wearing costumes to a Christmas special?

Why are they wearing costumes to a Christmas special?

One of the big highlights of the show is that the host will give prizes to the entire studio audience.  I did get a text yesterday excitedly informing me that everyone at this year’s Late Late Toy Show had been given a Millennium Falcon!

Man, that’s really going to clog up the airspace over Dublin for the trip home after the show.  Am I right, Modern Philosophers?  Did it come with a Wookie copilot, too?

I know someone who is very thankful they don't celebrate Thanksgiving in Ireland!

I know someone who is very thankful they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Ireland!

Sometimes, a talking bird named Dustin the Turkey shows up to harass the host.  I’m telling you, Modern Philosophers, American TV has a long way to go before it catches up with what goes out on the air in Ireland!

The Sweet Irish Girl informed me that it’s nearly impossible to get a ticket to the show, and she has unsuccessfully tried five different times.

Late late 4Okay, Late Late Toy Show, how about you make sure my girlfriend gets a ticket for next year’s show in exchange for my blogging about your amazing Christmas Special?

In fact, I’ll go so far as to say that The Late Late Toy Show is not only my favorite late night show on Irish TV, but it’s also my favorite late night show across the world after The Nite Show With Danny Cashman?

Since I’m a writer for The Nite Show, it’s got to be my favorite.

Do we have a deal?  Merry Christmas to you, my new friends on Irish TV.

Is there any chance I can get a Millennium Falcon, too???

Merry Christmas to The Sweet Irish Girl.  I hope this post makes you smile bigger than if Dustin the Turkey were to pop up on your TV in a Christmas jumper to tell you a joke!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Girlfriend’s Obsession With The Late Late Toy Show

  1. nolanwrites says:

    Ha! I love this! 🙂

    • Austin says:

      You’re Irish. Have you seen this silly show? Is it really as popular as The Sweet Irish Girl makes it out to be, or is she just giving me the craic?

      • nolanwrites says:

        The entire Irish nation is obsessed with the Toy Show. So no, your Sweet Irish Girl is not having the craic with you. And yes I have seen the show. I watch it every year.

      • Austin says:

        Okay. I thought maybe she was off her rocker a tad, so thanks for confirming that she isn’t the one obsessed with the show!

  2. Joseph Nebus says:

    I am most intrigued.

    Last year my love got to see The Magic Garden Christmas Special for the first time ever. This was a New York City-area local-kids show and my love’s from Michigan. The experience was … difficult for my love to quite understand, or to put in a sensible context. And then I had forgotten all about the daisies that deliver jokes, or the aggressive squirrel.

  3. ksbeth says:

    i love this show so much and think we should start one here. i will be dressed as a friendly sock monkey. happy about your irish lass, too )

  4. You had me at the “Sweet Irish Lass…” Here in the UK, we have never heard of the Irish Toy Show. But then, that’s not surprising. Ireland definitely has its OWN TV going on over there. (And rightly so!) But knowing the Irish sense of humour, this completely makes sense. (I ADORE the zany Irish!) British humour is also its own animal, and I prefer it enormously over American humour, though I couldn’t tell you precisely why. Maybe it is because they don’t do laugh tracks to signal what is FUNNY.. A Brittcom is made all the more hilarious for its awkward silences, pregnant pauses and cringing discomfort. (Remember, The Office started over here, and it was waaaaaaaay ruder and edgier than the US version. In this contest, however, the US Office trumps the UK edition for me. There is my Rudometer, of course… and Steve Carrell!)
    And still we laugh…

  5. Gail Kaufman says:

    Austin, the love bug really has bitten you.

  6. I find everything about this utterly bizarre! Maybe it’s one of those ‘only in Ireland’ type of things, in the way that English people say ‘only in America!’ with an eye roll ^_^

  7. markbialczak says:

    It’s all Greek to me, Austin. I mean, Irish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

