Time To Stretch Those Long Runner’s Legs

running 3This is typically the time of year, Modern Philosophers, that I pack on the pounds and hibernate in a cave of self loathing.

I don’t like to run when it’s cold, and the holidays tempt me with so many delicious, fattening foods.

Despite my vicious running program, I’ve managed to put on some weight over the past couple of weeks.  I took time off from fitness while The Sweet Irish Girl was here, and I did a lot of eating during her visit.

Plus, I didn’t exactly slow down over the past week with it being Thanksgiving.

Let me be perfectly honest with you, Modern Philosophers: while Irish lasses are incredibly beautiful and have that sexy brogue that will make you weak in the knees, they also love potatoes, creams, carbs, and all sorts of naughty foods.

I don’t know how The Sweet Irish Girl stays so thin and lovely, but whatever Leprechaun Magic she uses did not transfer over to me.  She somehow lost weight during her visit, while I put on a few pounds.

I got back into my running routine this week, and next week, it’s back onto the diet.  Of course, I knew I had to shake it up a little on this morning’s run…

Give in to the Dark Side, and you shall lose weight!

Give in to the Dark Side, and you shall lose weight!

My biggest problem with maintaining a yearlong running program, aside from my hatred of running, is that I don’t like running in the cold and snow.

Sure, going to my gym would help with this issue, but since I don’t like driving in snow, I’m not going to get in my car to drive to the gym.  Also, running on a treadmill is a major pain in the arse.

I much prefer running outside, and since I’m serious about this running nonsense this year, I’ve taken measures to ensure I’m less likely to wimp out when Autumn turns colder and bleeds into Winter.

As you can see from the above photo, I’ve purchased a very warm running mask.  Sure, it deprives passersby of seeing my handsome face, but it also keep that same handsome face from freezing off.

I’m also wearing an insulated runner’s hoodie that fits nicely over my running toga.  I went out in 19 and 13 degree temps this week, and felt warm and toasty both days.

The Roman Numeral four, and what I needed to pump fluids into my body after this morning's run!

The Roman Numeral four, and what I needed to pump fluids into my body after this morning’s run!

In preparation for the colder weather, when I anticipate that I won’t want to spend as much time out on the road battling the elements, I’ve cut my longest runs from 4.5 miles down to between 3.25 and 3.5 miles.

This morning, though, I decided it was time to push myself again to get my body back on the righteous path to wellness and weight loss.

As a result, I ran four miles.  I have to admit, that I was a bit surprised that I was able to cover the distance without any trouble, despite the fact that it’s been a least a month since I’ve gone that far.

I was back to The House on the Hill in less than 42:00.

In Maine, October through March are the cold, annoying months.  I normally don’t exercise much during that period, but I realized today that I’ve already navigated through the first two of those months and maintained my regular running schedule.

So maybe I can keep up this five days a week pace if I wear my cold weather gear, keep my distance to a reasonable amount, and use some common sense.

Cold 2As I’ve been writing this, The Sweet Irish Girl has been texting me photos of adorable Irish babies.  I’m trying not to give too much Deep Thought to what that means, but I get the sense that someday, I’m going to have more than just myself to answer to for my health.

She’s already got me using shower gel and some weird frilly sponge thing in the shower.  My regular bathroom soap has been replaced by a lovelier smelling variety.

Times are changing, Modern Philosophers, and I have to look at the bigger picture.

In that picture, I’d like to be smaller and healthier.

So I will continue to run.  Next week, all the crappy food will be banished again.  I will get back to inspiration through perspiration.

I was damn proud of myself for running four miles today, but it feels even better to hear The Sweet Irish Girl gushing about how proud she is of me for pushing myself to go the extra distance.

Try to do something healthy today, Modern Philosophers, even if someone with an adorable brogue isn’t going to purr about how lovely you are for doing so…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Time To Stretch Those Long Runner’s Legs

  1. Pamela says:

    Great job Austin !!

  2. nolanwrites says:

    Keep up the good work! You’re doing great!! 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    My first observation here was you used the term ‘pain in the arse’ not ‘pain in the ass’! 🙂 But good job on the running! I’ll walk 4 miles when I have a decent amount of spare time (instead of my more regular 2) but you’d never catch me running it! 😀 Well done for getting back into it even in those cold temperatures!

  4. When someone close to you loses weight, you automatically gain it. It’s a strange and rather mystical law of physics that the nuns never taught in Catholic school. 🙂

  5. Ocean Bream says:

    Hahaha! I lost it at ‘some weird frilly sponge thing’ xD my husband saw I used those and he started getting them too although his has stayed in the bathroom cupboard since he bought it so maybe not so serious…. Really enjoyed reading this post, and stay inspired for more running! I ran up the stairs instead of taking the lift if that counts…

  6. Gail Kaufman says:

    I’m in awe. Being a fellow New Englander, I can’t get motivated to carry my summer walks into the winter, but I sometimes do an indoor walking routine. You’ve inspired me to try to get back into that. It’s basically walking in place to the beat of music with a few added movements and stretch bands.

  7. Weirdly frilly thing in the shower? A pouf sponge?

  8. Well done, that’s a fair distance! I call those frilly things ‘shower flowers’ :oD

Leave a Reply

