Cyber Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/30/15

Giant mugIt’s Cyber Monday, Modern Philosophers, so be ever vigilant for the inevitable start of The Robot Apocalypse.

Aren’t Monday hard enough without having to worry that Robot High Command might give the order for The Machines to begin enslaving all of mankind?

But that’s really a post for later tonight after we’ve all fully awakened, had our coffee, and changed out of our sleeping togas.

I’m not one to participate in Cyber Monday, and I’m sure that bit of information doesn’t shock you.  Not only am I not about to give The Machines a leg up for their dastardly plans to enslave me, but I’m also a cash on the barrel, go into the store to look the shopkeeper in the eye, and then walk out with the product in my sweaty hands kind of Modern Philosopher.

Shopping isn’t exactly my favorite activity, but it is supposed to put a person in the Holiday Spirit.  Christmas is too far off for me to be possessed by any spirits at the point, so Cyber Monday needs to reboot and start up again much closer to December 25th.

Until it does that, it’s just a systems failure in my book.

I got back into the running groove this weekend by doing four mile runs on both Saturday and Sunday.  I’d been limiting my runs to somewhere between 3 and 3.5 miles over the past month, but I wanted to see if I still had that distance in me.

I’m happy to report that I made it home without EMT assistance both days!

Swiss flagOf course, the big news this morning is that The Sweet Irish Girl has arrived safely in Switzerland.  I woke up to a text informing me that she is now in the land of cheese, chocolate, banks, neutrality, and cool army knives.

Being in love with an International Woman of Mystery is exciting, but also nerve wracking.

Air travel makes me a bit anxious, and in the past month alone, The Sweet Irish Girl has been in Singapore, Ireland, The United States, and Switzerland.  That’s far too many airline peanuts for me, and every time she gets on a flight, I do a lot of praying and rubbing my tummy (to settle it, not for luck!) until I hear that she has arrived at her destination.

I’m sure Interpol will catch up with her eventually, but for now, she seems to be safe from their clutches in the land with the positive sign on its flag.

Back in America, things are starting the get bitterly cold in Maine.  It was 16 degrees when I awakened, and I fear that Snow Miser has once again marked The House on the Hill to be the epicenter of a New Ice Age.

Here’s hoping that I can survive another Maine Winter and Cyber Monday’s attempts to launch The Robot Apocalypse.

Help yourself to some coffee, Modern Philosophers, and keep in mind that there is only seventeen hours left to this horrible day!  Hope you survive Cyber Monday with your freedom and humanity intact!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cyber Monday Morning Coffee Club: 11/30/15

  1. grannyK says:

    Have a great Monday! It is cold here, too. It’s been between 12 and 18 deg in the mornings with a high of mid 20’s. Bundle up!

  2. Joseph Nebus says:

    Aw, I loved flying into and, I guess, out of Singapore,back when I worked there. The airport had the only Popeye’s Fried Chicken in southeast Asia, and it had a TV showing the 1980 cartoon series for some reason. You just won’t get that kind of service at, say, Gerald R Ford International in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

  3. I agree with you about going into a store and looking a clerk in the eye. I did a little of that on Small Business Saturday or whatever it’s called. Got some great material for blog posts (because I do that sort of thing), which alas I have not written yet. But we’re not talking about me! Excellent about your 4-mile runs. I ran four days in a row with additional long walks on three of the four days, but I think today I sit on my butt, for reasons I shall not bore you with (because, oh yeah, we’re not talking about me). Does the Sweet Irish Girl send you post cards? I like to send people post cards.

    • Austin says:

      She sent me a lovely care package from Ireland that arrived today. And she’s been sending me breathtaking photos of Switzerland.

      Congrats on your active behaviors!

Leave a Reply

