Santa Claus Is Parading Through Town

Spirit 1As I hinted in last night’s blog post, Modern Philosophers, I was moved so much by the little Christmas Tree that The Sweet Irish Girl sent me, that I did something last night I haven’t done in ages…

I attended the Festival of Lights Christmas Parade in Downtown Bangor.

I have lived in Maine for twelve years, and before last night, I had attended the annual Christmas parade twice: one with my ex-wife during our only Christmas together in Maine, and once with the girlfriend who inspired The Retirement Party.

That means it’s probably been ten years since I crossed the bridge to stand out in the cold and look at the pretty lights.

That’s because when it comes to Christmas, I’m usually like this…

Bah Humbug!

Bah Humbug!

However, The Sweet Irish Girl found a way to get me to drop my guard and allow the Christmas Spirit to sneak into my heart.

Once that happened, there was no way I could avoid the parade this year.  Besides, it was in the mid forties with no sign of ice or snow, so it was the perfect time to stand outside in the dark for an hour.

Lucky for you, Modern Philosophers, I brought my camera crew with me…

parade 1They don’t call it the Festival of Lights for nothing, Modern Philosophers.  They could also get away with calling it the Festival of Big Rigs Covered in Lights.

I’m glad they went with the name that rolls off the tongue a little easier.

parade 2Apparently, Snapple was too busy sponsoring my blog to sponsor the parade.  I’m glad they chose to spend their money on me, but I would’ve given anything to see a Snapple truck lit up with Christmas lights.

parade 3This gingerbread house was pretty cool.  Of course, I was a little freaked out by the Wicked Witch, who was trying to lure parade goers into the gingerbread house…

parade 4Trains on the back of a truck.  The trains appear to be chasing a Christmas Tree.  No one would tell me why the tree was fleeing the trains, but I assumed it was because they wanted to use it for fuel.

parade 5Another big rig covered in lights.  I’m beginning to see a theme here…

parade 6A race car.  I think the car should race with those Christmas lights on it.  It would definitely distract the other drivers, don’t you think?

parade 7No, it’s not the same photo, Modern Philosophers.  It’s just another big rig covered in Christmas lights.  You act like you’ve never seen such a thing!

parade 8It’s Bananas, the University of Maine’s mascot.  The fact that he is a black bear makes perfect sense, since the athletic teams are known as the Black Bears.

I’ve never understood, however, why they named him Bananas.

It’s nuts!

parade 9This float had the Olympic rings on it, so maybe Maine will be hosting the Winter Olympics, which would be pretty awesome.

If we’re hosting the Summer Olympics, that would just be strange!

parade 10Lots of lights.  No sign of a big rig.  Big tree, though.

parade 11Another gingerbread house.  I guess Hannaford was running a deal on gingerbread.

parade 12I was hoping that the people on this bank float would throw money into the crowd, but that was not the case.

And I thought Christmas was supposed to be a magic time of year.  Sad face.

parade 13Here’s the float from Emera, the big winners at this year’s parade.

Emera is the electric company.

parade 14And there he is, the big man on campus.  Literally.

Santa Claus has come to town, Modern Philosophers.  Time to be on my best behavior.

It was a wonderful experience, and I’m glad I went.  I didn’t get a chance to speak to Santa Claus since he was swarmed by adoring children, but I’m sure he’ll Skype later and maybe even stop by The House on the Hill before he returns to the North Pole.

Happy Holidays!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Santa Claus Is Parading Through Town

  1. donedreaming says:

    I always know Christmas is on it’s way when the Coca Cola advert comes on tv and I love the trucks with all the pretty lights parading through the village. Looks like you got the real thing happening in your town! So pleased you’ve decided to let Christmas back in to your heart, that girl’s a keeper x

  2. ksbeth says:

    glad she’s an inspiration to you )

  3. Janine says:

    Here’s the reason the UMaine mascot is named “Bananas”:

    According to The History of the Maine Bear, compiled by UMaine’s Sigma Xi Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega (APO) service fraternity, a small black bear cub named Jeff, born on the northeast slope of Mount Katahdin, was presented to O.B. Fernandez, a former Old Town police chief and collector of wild animals, in 1914. Fernandez loaned the bear to the university, where Jeff was introduced at a football rally. As the tiny black bear entered the auditorium, the surprised crowd applauded enthusiastically. When Jeff stood on his head, the crowd went “bananas” — giving rise to the name of all future UMaine bear mascots.

  4. The Hook says:

    Beautiful shots, man.

Leave a Reply

