Monday Morning Coffee Club: 12/7/15

Giant mugIt’s Monday again, Modern Philosophers.

While we know Mondays are the one day of the week with a permanent spot on Santa Claus’ Naughty List, we still have to deal with them every seven days.  I find it best to be nice to Mondays, even if it’s completely fake, because I know Santa is watching.

However, with billions of people to keep an eye on, he can’t possible focus too much attention on my behavior towards Mondays.  So I can still hate the day.

This Monday happens to be Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day.  FDR declared it a day that will live in infamy, and almost 75 years later it is still a moment that is forever burned into my memory, even though it happened well before I was born.

Sometimes, the Modern Philosopher in me tries to philosophize on what our nation’s reaction would have been to the attack on Pearl Harbor had social media existed as it does today.  My Deep Thoughts are that it was even more frightening back then because there wasn’t the instant news coverage, the constant tweeting, and the ranting and raving about Japanese Imperialism on Facebook.

I can only imagine how scary it was to have tidbits of information trickling out about the attack, and no way to know for sure what had happened, or if the Japanese were continuing on to the continental United States.

The world was a much different place, but acts of terrorism against Americans still had the same impact.  I suppose some things will never change.

Austin HumbugOn a merrier note, Christmas is slowly creeping up on us.  By my calculations, and I’m doing this without a calculator, Christmas is now 18 days away.

It is no secret, Modern Philosophers, that Christmas has lost a lot of its Magic for me.  I can wear a Santa hat all I want (it looks good on me!), but I will still have plenty of “Bah Humbug!” in my heart.

For me, Christmas is just a day off from work.  It falls on a Friday this year, which makes for a three day weekend.  That fills me with the Christmas Spirit.

My Sweet Irish Girlfriend had a mini Christmas Tree delivered to The House on the Hill on Saturday, which prompted me to put out a few Christmas decorations and even coaxed a smile onto my handsome, yet serious face.

That night, I walked over the bridge and stood out on the street for an hour in the dark to watch the Christmas Parade.  That might have allowed a little more Christmas Spirit into my heart, which is guarded by an army of Scrooges (the version of Scrooge from before the Ghosts paid him a visit, of course).

While it might have been beginning to look a little bit like Christmas over the weekend, right now, it just looks like a typical Monday.

Bah Humbug!

In the spirit of the Holiday Season (Happy Hanukkah to my Jewish friends!), I have asked the interns to serve eggnog along with the coffee this morning.  Enjoy.  Try to focus on the fact that there are only seventeen hours left until it’s Tuesday…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 12/7/15

  1. The Cutter says:

    I’m sure social media would have handled Pearl Harbor the same way it handles anything that happens today: With panic and insane overreactions.

Leave a Reply

