Christmas Comes Early For Zombie Car

Santa Claus will always reward you if you’re good, Modern Philosophers.

It doesn’t matter how old you are, if you’re Human or an Otherworldly Being, or if you are a beat up midsize sedan with more lives than a cat.

Christmas came early today for Zombie Car.

It was that time of the year again, when my trusty vehicle had to go to the mechanic to see if it could earn its State Inspection Sticker.

Inspection Day always makes me nervous, Modern Philosophers.

Christmas tree 2Of course, pretty much everything makes me anxious.  Especially when it involves money and the potential of parting ways with large amounts of money.

It doesn’t exactly grow on Christmas Trees, you know.

Zombie Car is old, but sturdy.  I bought it from my mechanic in California, who had used it as a personal vehicle.  Mechanics keep their rides in excellent shape.  It would be bad for business if they couldn’t do that.

Every year, I drop off Zombie Car for its sticker and then anxiously await the call telling me how much it’s going to cost to do the repairs to make it pass inspection.

Santa ReindeerSanta Claus knows how important it is to have a reliable ride.  If his sleigh doesn’t pass inspection, he is screwed big time.

So when Zombie Car wrote to Santa and asked for nothing else other than to pass inspection for Christmas this year, I had a sense St. Nick might be moved.

I just hoped Santa would deliver early.

Since it was also Writer’s Day, I spent a lot of the day distracting myself with writing related projects.  I was also on the phone to Switzerland a great deal.

At 3:30, I finally couldn’t take it anymore, and I told The Sweet Irish Girl I needed to call the mechanic to see why I hadn’t heard from him yet.  My fear was that whatever work was needed wouldn’t be completed tonight and I’d have no Zombie Car for work tomorrow.

And work that took that long to complete would not come cheap.

I almost Skyped Santa to plead my case.

Instead, I manned up and called the mechanic.

He told me Zombie Car had passed inspection with flying colors, and he had just been so busy that he’d forgotten to call me.

That was a major load off my chest and my wallet.

SantaSince it is Christmas, and Zombie Car hadn’t asked for anything else from Santa Claus, I bought it expensive new windshield wipers, got its oil changed, and had the mechanic fix the front fender so Zombie Car would feel pretty again.

As I was driving home, I checked the rear view mirror and found the candy cane that Santa Claus had left hanging from it.

No, it wasn’t quite a Miracle on 34th Street, but with Zombie Car, anything that keeps it running for another year is pretty darn close.

So I tucked Zombie Car away in the garage for the night, content that it would be the official vehicle of The House on the Hill for yet another year.

Thank you, Santa, for granting Zombie Car’s Christmas wish!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Comes Early For Zombie Car

  1. PAMELA says:

    Congrats to Zombie Car , another hurdle crossed !

  2. Yay! SAnta must have seen the letter – hope you and Zombie Car are having a good time in the Christmas prep!

Leave a Reply

