It’s Writer’s Day, Please Celebrate Responsibly

Taping 16Happy Writer’s Day, Modern Philosophers!

I am so glad I have today off to celebrate being a writer because I really needed to sleep in after the night I had.

Not only did I get to enjoy another incredible taping of The Nite Show With Danny Cashman, during which Danny used seven of my monologue jokes, but I also got to hit the town and party with the big time movie star in the photo on the left.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, R2-D2, from Star Wars: The Force Awakens was on The Nite Show.

And let me tell you, he is programmed to party like a rock star.  I’m not saying that little astromech droid took me to the Dark Side, but I did and saw things last night that would make the Jedi Council very unhappy.

I’ve never been a big drinker, but either I’m hungover and hallucinating, or the Ghosts of Obi-Wan, Anakin, and Yoda are looking over my shoulder as I write this.

Artoo is definitely the droid you are looking for when you want to party. Just don’t be surprised the next morning when your head feels like the Death Star is exploding on an endless loop.

Taping 13As I gushed about in the post I wrote last night (you have read that one, right?), I definitely felt the Christmas Spirit after attending the taping.

Danny used seven of my jokes, and that makes me feel good on so many levels.  It confirms the rumors that I’m actually a good writer.  It warms my heart to hear the audience laugh at my writing.  It reminds me that putting in those late nights to write the jokes after a long day at my other job was totally worth it.

That’s why I’m really enjoying my Writer’s Day.

If I’d rushed back to the other job, I would have done myself a total disservice.  I need this Writer’s Day to let last night’s writing success really sink in so I don’t forget that I am a writer first and foremost.

I enjoy going through all the photos I took from The Gracie, reading the Tweets I sent during the taping, and checking out the comments and replies from my friends.

I am a writer!  Hear me roar as I lazily lounge on the couch all day and let the positive thoughts and vibes wash over me.

keep writingDo you know what else is fun to do on Writer’s Day as I recover from my R2-D2 induced hangover, Modern Philosophers?

I love talking on the phone with The Sweet Irish Girl, and telling her how well the taping went, how I got to meet one of my Star Wars idols, and recounting all the jokes that made it onto the air.

I love listening to her giggle and gush about how proud she is of me.  I don’t even care if she refers to R2-D2 by the wrong name because I love her so much and it’s Writer’s Day so it’s all about celebrating writing.

Being a writer is even more fun when someone loves you and gets how important writing is to you.  A little support and some adorable Irish giggles can go a long way.

Taping 9So as you admire my awesome photo of The Nutcracker laying down the smack on The Rat King, ask yourself why you don’t celebrate Writer’s Day, Modern Philosophers.

Writing is not easy, despite the fact that everyone thinks they can do it.

Honor the work you’re doing.  Set aside a day to revel in your writing accomplishments.

And if you can arrange it so that R2-D2 is there to join the fun, you must go for it.

Happy Writer’s Day.  May The Force Be With You.  Always.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It’s Writer’s Day, Please Celebrate Responsibly

  1. I say, every day should be writers day. Now, if I could swing hanging out with R2 every day, then things would be perfect. After all, he’s quite the conversationalist, I hear. 😀

  2. Happy Writers Day to you too. (*found your blog post from Once Upon a Blog)

  3. I must confess to not having heard of writers day until I read about it on your blog today. Now there is poetry, rather bad poetry but poetry none the less! Hope all continues to go well with the sweet Irish girl. All the best. Kevin

  4. The Hook says:

    You really are one of the luckiest bastards alive, Austin.
    Not only do you get to hang with Star Wars royalty, you’re actually being paid to write (tho not nearly enough, I bet.)
    I’m one jealous hack…

  5. I am uncomfortably aware that I do not write enough to deserve a Writer’s Day. However, I have it in my power to change that. I’m glad you are enjoying yourself. May you enjoy many future Writer’s Days, Weeks and Months. Rock on!

  6. Gail Kaufman says:

    I’m happy to celebrate this holiday you’ve created. Good timing for me. My ghostwriting has expanded to press releases and the client feedback received today from the work I submitted last night was, “You nailed it!” So I, too, feel like a writer today.

Leave a Reply

