Monday Morning Coffee Club: 12/14/15

Giant mugIt’s Monday again, Modern Philosophers, but it’s only eleven days until Christmas, so that might take away some of the sting.

It hasn’t felt much like Christmas at The House on the Hill, but not for the usual sad sack, I’m all alone, woe is me because nobody loves me reasons.  I have a Sweet Irish Girlfriend now, who is quite lovely and makes my life grand.

No, it hasn’t felt like Christmas because it’s been unseasonably warm in Maine.  And by “unseasonably warm”, I mean that we’re not already buried under a foot of nice, I haven’t been up on the roof desperately shoveling away snow before the roof leaks, and I haven’t been down in the basement defrosting frozen pipes.

In other words, it has been a lovely December.

The only drawback to the warmer weather is that it catches me by surprise when I realize that Christmas is on the calendar for next Friday.

We might need to reschedule that.

heros 5Speaking of My Sweet Irish Girlfriend, I thought I’d try something new to get this Monday started right, so I called Ireland while I was still in bed.

My Deep Thoughts on that move was that perhaps hearing her adorable accent, and getting a little Luck of the Irish to transmit from her cell tower to mine might counteract Monday’s usual negative effect on me.

Those of you who are really paying attention will have noticed that I said I called her in Ireland, rather than in Switzerland.

Thankfully, she is back home on the Emerald Isle.  Her time in the Swiss Alps was very trying, not what she had hoped, and it was raising my stress levels quite a bit because I couldn’t stand knowing that she was so unhappy.

She arrived home yesterday, and I can already detect a change in her mood.  I slept better last night knowing that Leprechauns were watching over her.

In trying to find a bright spot in the week ahead, I see that The Nite Show’s Christmas Party is on my calendar for Thursday night.  That should be fun, and even if it’s a total bust, it still gets me out of my desk job early that day.

Of course, the biggest event of the week is the opening of Star Wars: The Force Awakens on Friday.  While I still think the title sounds like an ad for an intergalactic erectile dysfunction product (“If you’re over 40, there’s no reason The Force can’t be strong with you when a tender moment turns into a romantic one…”), I can’t wait to see the flick.

I promise, Modern Philosophers, if my euphoria from seeing the movie lasts more than four hours, I will contact a doctor.

Well, the Stormtroopers in Santa Claus hats, aka the blog interns, have just marched into the living room and announced that it’s time for me to get ready for work.

There’s plenty of coffee and I’ve asked the interns to also put out some hot chocolate and eggnog for my fellow Modern Philosophers.  Enjoy and remember there are only seventeen hours left until it’s Tuesday!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Dating, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

