Friday Night Think Tank: The Force Awakens Santa

awakensIt’s Friday night, Modern Philosophers, and even more importantly, Star Wars: The Force Awakens has officially opened!  The Force is with us all!

Of course, Christmas is also a week away, so the Christmas Spirit should be alive and well, too.

It’s a great time to be alive.  All the red and green lights everywhere you go.  Caused by the glow of lightsabers as children safely play out their Star Wars fantasies, without the fear of losing a hand in the process.

Santa Claus and the Jedi are converging to make this a truly magical time of year, Modern Philosophers.

So put on your Deep Thought Jedi robes, hop in your landspeeder, and tell your R2 unit to set a course for the Think Tank.

The Force is strong with all the Modern Philosophers tonight!  I will see you out there.  I’ve even arranged for the Mos Eisley Cantina band to play Christmas carols for us.

This week’s topic: Star Wars: The Force Awakens opens tonight, and Christmas is just a week away.  Which event has you more excited?

As much as I fear my answer will earn me a spot on the Naughty List, Modern Philosophers, I’ve searched my feelings, and I’m much more excited about the new Star Wars flick.

SantaPlease don’t look at me like that, Santa Claus!

Christmas lost its magic for me a long time ago, and even though I’ve been blessed with a new love in my life in time for the Happy Holiday, we are separated by a wide, mighty ocean.

In my mind, Christmas has become equated with loneliness, sorrow, and disappointment.

On the other hand, there’s Star Wars.

This is the movie that changed my life, even though I had absolutely no idea of its impact at the time because I was far too young.

George Lucas gave me a gift in the Summer of 1977 that has never stopped giving.  I am a writer today because I saw that movie when I was only knee high to a Jedi.

I wrote about Star Wars’ impact on my life in my application essay to NYU.  Even today, every time I see a commercial for The Force Awakens, I am filled with the desire to write.

3 ghost jediIt’s like Star Wars is my Obi-Wan, telling me to search my feelings, trust my instincts, and put down on paper whatever the voices in my command me to write.

I’ve been looking forward to the release of this movie for quite some time.  I’m as giddy as the young school boy I was back when I saw Star Wars: A New Hope for the first time, a long time ago at a movie theater far, far away…

When I finally sit down to watch the seventh movie in my favorite franchise of all time, it will be with the excitement I once felt on Christmas morning.  I will tear away at the wrapping paper with unbridled glee, and I will want to play with my new toy, and nothing else, for the rest of the day.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens is my new Christmas.

I just hope it doesn’t lose its magic, too.

Yes, J. J. Abrams, I am talking to you!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: The Force Awakens Santa

  1. drishism says:

    I am much more excited about The Force Awakens.

    However, I will most likely not see the new Star Wars megablockbuster until after Christmas. Waiting is difficult… especially since I know the reviews have been off the charts.

    But, I have two kiddos in the house… so the timing just works out that I cannot see it until after Christmas.

    Q: What can possibly trump The Force?
    A: Kids.

    I hope you enjoy the film when you see it. And have a merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

