Merry Christmas From The Silent House On The Hill

Christmas tree 2Merry Christmas, Modern Philosophers!

As is my tradition, I spent a quiet morning alone at The House on the Hill, not opening presents, and sipping eggnog while I watched TV.

Less to clean up that way, you know?

This Christmas morning did have a little twist to it, though.  My Sweet Irish Girlfriend, who still won’t allow me to share her name or photo, called me at 6:00 to wish me a Merry Christmas before she headed off to church.

That was very sweet.  Just starting off this usually lonely day, knowing that someone loves me, was a radical change from the norm.  Now that I think of it, her realizing that she could call me at 6AM and not be at risk of suffering my Scrooge-like wrath, means that she understands how much I love her.

Merry Christmas, Sweetheart!

Trust me, she really has quite a lovely face!

Trust me, she really has quite a lovely face!

I did have fun on Christmas Eve recording snippets of Christmas Specials to send to my girlfriend across the ocean.   I wanted her to know about American Christmas traditions, and those include watching shows like Rudolph, The Grinch, It’s A Wonderful Life, A Charlie Brown Christmas, and A Christmas Story.

My Sweet Irish Girlfriend responded with one photo to sum up Irish Christmas traditions. It was Bono in a Santa hat with a potato in one hand and a Guinness in the other.

I think I prefer the way we do Christmas on this side of the Atlantic.

Sure, I miss having Santa Claus visit The House on the Hill, but I’ve gotten used to it.  There is still a little disappointment involved in waking up knowing there won’t be any presents to open, but I still find ways to enjoy the Holiday.

There will be pepperoni and cheese at The House in the Hill today in honor of my Dad’s Christmas tradition, and I’m making a big turkey dinner.  Plus, there are plenty of treats around to keep my belly merry and jolly.

Even though I didn’t have any presents to open, Cali and Luna certainly did.  The kitties have been running around The House on the Hill all morning playing with their new toys, and that warms my heart, which is clearly two sizes too small on December 25.

Austin HumbugTo be perfectly honest, I like a quiet Christmas.  My work week exhausts me, and it’s nice to have a long weekend to relax and recharge my batteries.

I’m looking forward to getting some serious writing done, and watching the big Jets game on Sunday.  A three day weekend is exactly what I need right now.

Plus, it’s not like I’m just going to sit around the house moping.  I’ve got big plans for later today that will make me, once again, feel like a little boy on Christmas…

Christmas geekI’m going to the movies!  Can you guess what I’m going to see?

It might not be a conventional Christmas, but it’s the way I choose to celebrate and I’m quite fine with it.

Besides, there’s a beautiful woman in Ireland who keeps wishing me a Merry Christmas and telling me how much she loves me.

All is well in my world.

Merry Christmas, Modern Philosophers!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Merry Christmas From The Silent House On The Hill

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    I’m pleased for you, and while it might be a little bit of a shame not to have presents to open today, know that there are many christmases to come, and many more presents! Merry Christmas from England 😀

  2. Sometimes being alone is better than wishing you were. Have a joyous day and a wonderful New Year.

  3. ksbeth says:

    and you have received the best gift of all this year, austin .the gift of love. merry christmas.

  4. donedreaming says:

    How was the movie? Have you had a good day?

  5. D. Parker says:

    Sounds like a Merry Christmas to me, Austin, all the best today and every day! Wishing you a happy happy, happy 2016! 🙂

  6. stuckinscared says:

    Loneliness and a little disappointment hints through in your writing, but I love that you find and focus on the positives… and make an effort to enjoy the day despite being alone. Shame the film was crap…hopefully your turkey dinner made up for that! How lovely that you sweet-Irish-girlfriend thought of you first thing #lovewins 🙂 Mind you, I’d have likely been more scrooge than Santa at that hour of the morning lol 😉

    Wishing you all the best for 2016, Austin… and perhaps a Turkey dinner for two come this time next year 🙂 x

  7. markbialczak says:

    Think how much better this Christmas was than last, Austin. You’ve come a long way in 2015. Happy holidays, and I’m looking forward to a great 2016 for my friend in the House on the Hill.

Leave a Reply

